Strand of Oaks

Harder Love is the latest release from Strand of Oaks, a collection of Tim Showalter’s original recordings for the album Hard Love. Pairing the earliest versions Hard Love tracks with previously-unreleased material (including some songs deemed “too weird” for the official release), Harder Love feels like Hard Love in an alternate dimension. A whole lot stranger and even more raw, it’s like the tripped out, spiritual brother to its predecessor.

In the winter of 2016, Showalter spent a week recording with Ben Vehorn at Tangerine Studios in Akron, Ohio, the two having previously collaborated on Pope Killdragon (2010) and HEAL (2014). A few of the songs captured during that initial studio session went on to be rerecorded, but much of Harder Love is hazy, unknown territory, offering additional perspective on Showalter’s Hard Love vision, as well as exciting new material to add to the Strand of Oaks discography. “These songs are me unedited…I just want people to have them. I’m sick of overthinking and talking too much about the process and the narrative.”

And it’s Showalter’s desire for a wholly unfiltered approach that defines Harder Love, a listening experience that often feels like scrolling through the FM dial, not quite getting the station, and listening through the static anyway. So when Harder Love begins, it’s no surprise that the title track feels like the doppelgänger to its Hard Love counterpart, but the pulsating beat and jangly organ of this alternate version deliver a fresh take on a notable track. And from then on, Harder Love continues to take form in its own parallel universe. The Westerberg-esque beauty “Passing Out” offers the first peek at some solid, previously-unreleased Strand of Oaks material, and subsequent new tracks (e.g., Sober, Dream Brother, Rain Won’t Come) not only make Harder Love a dynamic listen, but also speak to Showalter’s songwriting versatility.

Yet in many ways, it’s the original version of “On the Hill” that epitomizes the wild and uninhibited spirit at the core of the Hard Love concept with its scrambled, rambling vocal take and dancey, trancey vibe. And weirdness prevails on “Wicked Water,” a thoroughly bizarre jam that sounds unlike anything ever, cultivating Showalter’s dub love into an ambitious jaunt into the deepest corners of his musical mind. So by the time we reach the “Chill Tent,” in keeping with Showalter’s vision, we need it. A gorgeous electronic track that begs us to “come down, take it easy,” it’s the perfect comedown from an intense and visceral listening experience.

And once we have a chance to take a breath and move back into reality, it becomes apparent that perhaps it’s this companion piece—or the Hard Love versus Harder Love dichotomy—that has enabled Showalter to fulfill his original vision, recreating his own weird and wonderful experiences via a trippy juxtaposition of familiar Hard Love tracks and totally new, totally strange, thoroughly enjoyable Strand of Oaks material. “Life is short and more fucked up by the day…and I don’t want to waste any more time being afraid to be weird and let all my songs out there.”

WATCH // Ryley Walker Performs “The High Road” and “Sweet Satisfaction” At Braund Studios NYC

“His new album displays a kinship for Fairport Convention, Tim Buckley, Nick Drake, Joni Mitchell and Burt Jansch, but Walker is a restless presence and powerful player, one whose compositions offer structural diversions and an overall expansiveness. The 10 songs move with a measured looseness, with Walker and his miraculous backing band of Chicago jazz players allowing plenty of space for tightly improvised explorations.”
Los Angeles Times

Ryley Walker’s summer tour in support of his Dead Oceans’ debut, Primrose Green, kicks off tomorrow in Los Angeles with an Aquarium Drunkard-presented show at The Echo. In conjunction with the start of his busy summer, Walker is sharing two new stunning live videos of Primrose Green cuts, “Sweet Satisfaction” and “The High Road.” The videos were recorded at Braund Studios in Brooklyn during CMJ 2014. Get a glimpse into Walker’s magnificent live show before catching him on the road with Amen Dunes, Jessica Pratt, Strand of Oaks and others, and at several festivals including Pitchfork Music Festival, Levitation, NXNE, Solid Sound Music Festival, Pickathon and more. A full list of dates is below.

RYLEY WALKER TOUR DATES:
Tue. June 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Wed. June 3 – Long Beach, CA @ Carpenter House
Sun. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Levitation – Vancouver
Mon. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza (w/ Amen Dunes)
Tue. June 9 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge (w/ Amen Dunes)
Thu. June 11 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium (w/ Amen Dunes)
Fri. June 12 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel (w/ Amen Dunes)
Sat. June 13 – Sonoma, CA @ Huichica Festival (w/ Amen Dunes)
Thu. June 18 – Montreal, QC @ La Vitrola (Suoni per II Popolo Festival w/ Myriam Gendron)
Sat. June 20 – Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club (NXNE w/ Angel Olsen)
Sun. June 21 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Tue. June 23 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Wed. June 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Thu. June 25 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Fri. June 26 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Sat. June 27 – North Adams, MA @ Solid Sound Music Festival
Tue. June 30 – Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston (w/ Elijah Wolf, Liv Carrow)
Wed. July 1 – Asbury Park, NJ @ The Saint
Thu. July 2 – Baltimore, MD @ Canton Waterfront Park (w/ Scars on 45)
Wed. July 15 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency (w/ Jessica Pratt)
Fri. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Union Park (Pitchfork Music Festival)
Fri. July 24-Sun. July 26 – Guelph, ON @ Guelph Lake Island Conversation Area (Hillside Festival)
Sun. July 26 – Sterling Heights, MI @ Freedom Hill (MO POP Festival)
Mon. July 27 – Saint Paul, MN @ Turf Club (w/ Strand of Oaks)
Fri. July 31-Sun. Aug. 2 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pendarvis Farm (Pickathon)
Tue. Aug. 18 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Wed. Aug. 19 – Cork, IE @ Triskel Arts Centre
Thu. Aug. 20-Sun. Aug. 23 – Brecon Beacons, Wales @ Green Man Festival
Tue. Aug. 25 – Brussels, BE @ Feeerieen Festival
Wed. Aug. 26 – Canterbury, UK @ The Bubble Club
Thu. Aug. 27 – Norwich, UK @ Norwich Arts Centre
Fri. Aug. 28 – Birmingham, UK @ The Rainbow
Sat. Aug. 29 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Sun. Aug. 30 – York, UK @ The Band Room
Mon. Aug. 31 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Tue. Sept. 1 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Wed. Sept. 2 – London, UK @ Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen
Fri. Sept. 4-Sun. Sept. 6 – Wiltshire, UK @ End Of The Road
Sun. Sept. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Sugar Mountain Festival
Wed. Sept. 9 – Schorndorf, DE @ Manufaktur
Thu. Sept. 10 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Fri. Sept. 11 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus
Sat. Sept. 12 – Groningen, NL @ Take Root Festival
Sun. Sept. 13 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof
Tue. Sept. 15 – Geneva, CH @ L’Ecurie
Wed. Sept. 23-Sun. Sept. 27 – Champaign, IL @ Pygmalion Music Festival
Sat. Sept. 26 – Cincinnati, OH @ MidPoint Music Festival

Purchase Primrose Green:
iTunes
Amazon
SCD
Indies

WATCH // Strand of Oaks Shares Summer Tour Dates, Watch Session At Ace Hotel in New York City

Strand of Oaks : 5 at 5 : Ace Hotel New York from Ace Hotel on Vimeo.

Strand of Oaks wants to spend time with you this summer. Every one of you. Starting this month the band will make their way across the country in continued support of last year’s highly-acclaimed, HEAL. Strand of Oaks’ already exhilirating live show will add decibels in the form of a guitar helmed by eastcoaster (and new band member) Carter Tanton. The band’s spring tour resumes in Chattanooga, TN on April 16 with a handful of dates in support of Jason Isbell. Notable festival stops on their route include Middle of the Map, Hangout, Sasquatch, Governors Ball, Bonnaroo, Lollapallooza, Osheaga, and Outside Lands – so almost all of ’em. Strand of Oaks will also play support to Alabama Shakes and Ryan Adams.

Since we last spoke, frontman Tim Showalter coaxed some truth from Father John Misty’s I Love You, Honeybear for The Talkhouse and paid a visit to NYC’s Ace Hotel for their 5 at 5 series. Catch a glimpse of his inner Viking on the road, full list of dates below.

STRAND OF OAKS TOUR DATES
[all dates + tix links: deadoceans.com/tour]

Thurs. April 16 – Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29 #
Fri. April 17 – Charlotte, NC @ US National Whitewater Center #
Sat. April 18 – Columbia, SC @ Music Farm Columbia #
Mon. April 20 – Athens, GA @ Caledonia Lounge
Tues. April 21 – Lexington, KY @ Green Lantern Bar
Wed. April 22 – Columbia, MO @ Rose Music Hall
Thus. April 23 – Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater, Middle of the Map Fest
Tues. May 12 – Wilmington, DE @ The Grand Opera House &
Fri. May 15 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival
Fri. May 22 – Mon. May 25 – George, WA @ Sasquatch Music Festival
Wed. May 27 – London, UK @ The Garage
Fri. May 29 – Sat. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Mon. June 1 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen
Wed. June 3 – Marina Di Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew
Thurs. June 5 – Athens, GR @ Plissken Festival
Sun. June 7 – New York, NY @ Governors Ball
Tues. June 9 – Charlottesville, VA @ nTelos Wireless Pavilion
Thurs. June 11 – Sun. June 14 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Sat. June 13 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sun. June 14 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter
Fri. June 19 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Sat. July 25 – Buffalo, NY @ Tralf Music Hall
Mon. July 27 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tues. July 28 – Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza (SOLD OUT)
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Montreal, QC @ Osheaga Festival
Fri. Aug. 7 – Sun. Aug. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands Music & Arts (SOLD OUT)
Thurs. Aug. 20 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop

# = w/ Jason Isbell
& = w/ Ryan Adams
= w/ Alabama Shakes

WATCH // Strand of Oaks Performs “Plymouth” Live At Ace Hotel NYC [Via The A.V. Club], Tour Starts Tonight In Madison, WI

Today, Strand of Oaks start a 6-date Midwestern tour from Wisconsin to Indianapolis and to celebrate, Ace Hotel has shared a beautiful session of “Plymouth” shot in their NYC lobby late last year. Watch the video above or here on The A.V. Club.

Click read more below to see all upcoming tour dates and ticket links including recently announced dates at Hogs for the Cause, Hangout Festival, Bonnaroo, and Governor’s Ball.

Pick up the new album now via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, and your local record store.

Read the rest of this entry »

LATE NIGHT // Watch Strand of Oaks Perform ‘Shut In’ On Late Night With Seth Meyers, On Tour Now

I came, I saw, I conquered.Tim Showalter (Unconfirmed, but probably)

Did you catch Strand of Oaks‘ national television debut last night on Late Night With Seth Meyers? We hope you did. If you missed the show watch them perform “Shut In” above off their latest album ‘Heal‘.

Pick up the new album now via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, and your local record store.

If you’re looking for even more Strand of Oaks, click here for the band’s latest video for the track “Same Emotions“, or see them in the flesh. They’ll be stateside before their trek through Europe. Tour dates are below.

TOUR DATES
[all dates + tix links: deadoceans.com/tour]

8/12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café &
8/14 – Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub &
8/15 – Bloomington, IN @ Russian Recording &
8/16 – Goshen, IN @ Ignition Music Garage &
8/17 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas &
8/18 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater &
8/19 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry &
8/21 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
8/22 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room &
8/23 – Denver, CO @ Hi Dive &
8/24 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court &
8/26 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern &
8/27 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Cabaret &
8/28 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge &
8/30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent &
8/31 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place &
9/3 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo &
9/4 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah &
9/5 – Phoenix, AZ @ Last Exit &
9/7 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links &
9/9 – Austin, TX @ Lambert’s &
9/10 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree &
9/11 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl &
9/12 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt &
9/13 – Durham, NC @ Pinhook &
9/14 – Washington, DC @ DC9 &
9/15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade &
9/19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
9/20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
9/27 – EKKO, Utrecht (NL)

9/28 – Trix, Antwerp (BE)

9/29 – Bermuda Triangle, Brighton (UK)
9/30 – The Lexington, London (UK)
10/1 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (UK)

10/2 – Mono, Glasgow (UK)

10/3 – Whelan’s, Dublin (IR)

10/4 – Deaf Institute, Manchester (UK)

10/5 – The Louisiana, Bristol (UK)

10/6 – 4AD, Diksmuide (BE)
10/8 – Merleyn, Nijmegen (NL)
10/9 – Privatclub, Berlin (DE)

10/10 – Ideal Bar, Copenhagen (DK)

10/11 – Pustervik, Gothenburg (SE)
10/12 – John Dee, Oslo (NO)

10/13 – Lilla Hotellbaren, Stockholm (SE)
10/15 – Podnik, Prague (CZ)

10/16 – Chelsea, Vienna (AT)

10/17 – Mattatoio, Carpi (IT)

10/18 – Bronson, Ravenna (IT)

10/20 – 75 Beat, Milan (IT)

10/21 – Bad Bonn, Duedingen (CH)
10/22 – Espace B, Paris (FR)

10/23 – Blue Shell, Cologne (DE)

10/24 – Paradiso, Amsterdam (NL)
10/25 – Zwolle, NL @ Let’s Get Lost

& – W/ Christopher Denny
# – W/ Interpol

tour dates

There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows »

video

Everything
by Strand of Oaks
Cry
by Strand of Oaks
Rest Of It
by Strand of Oaks
Radio Kids
by Strand of Oaks
Shut In
by Strand of Oaks
Goshen '97
by Strand of Oaks
Same Emotions
by Strand of Oaks
by Strand of Oaks