LISTEN // Bishop Allen Share “Why I Had To Go” Via Noisey Premiere, New Album Out August 19th

You may have heard Bishop Allen makes their triumphant return with their first album in 5 years out August 19th. We already previewed the new album’s first track “Start Again”, and today Noisey premiered a second track from the album, “Why I Had To Go”. More than catchy, the new song will hopefully hold you over until mid-August. Hear the track above or hear it on our Soundcloud / YouTube.

Pre-order the new album Lights Out via SC Distribution for the deluxe bundle which includes limited-edition white vinyl, a CD, downloads, + a hand-screened glow-in-the-dark poster. You can also get the album on iTunes, Amazon, or at your local record store.

The band returns to Brooklyn for their record release show at Glasslands on August 21st to start off the first of many tour dates supporting the new album. More dates will be announced soon.

[Get tickets here: ]
Sat. Aug. 16 – Kingston, NY @ Chronogram Block Party
Wed. Aug. 20 – Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
Thu. Aug. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands
Fri. Aug. 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sat. Aug. 23 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sun. Aug. 24 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Mon. Aug. 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Aug. 26 – Jacksonville, FL @ Burro Bar
Thu. Aug. 28 – New Orleans, LA @ The Beatnik
Fri. Aug. 29 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Chelsea Cafe
Sat. Aug. 30 – Austin, TX @ Holy Mountain
Sun. Aug. 31 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Mon. Sept. 1 – Norman, OK @ Opolis
Wed. Sept. 3 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird
Thu. Sept. 4 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Sat. Sept. 6 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
Sun. Sept. 7 – Columbus, OH @ Treehouse
Mon, Sept. 8 – Akron, OH @ Musica
Sat. Sept. 27 – Champaign, IL @ Pygmalion Festival
Sun. Sept. 28 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Thu. Oct. 2 – Seattle, WI @ Lofi
Sat. Oct. 4 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Sun. Oct. 5 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Tue. Oct. 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Wed. Oct. 8 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 10 – Denver, CO @ Hi Dive

Be Sociable, Share!

free downloads

The Halfwit In Me by Ryley Walker
The Roundabout by Ryley Walker
Dhoodan by Ryley Walker
I Have Been To The Mountain by Kevin Morby
Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
Dark Child by Marlon Williams
Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
Dream Lover by Destroyer
Times Square by Destroyer


A Burning Hill by Mitski

Everybody Wants To Love You by Japanese Breakfast

The Roundabout by Ryley Walker

Jane Cum by Japanese Breakfast

5 out soon

todays shows

Pittsburg, PA - Cattivo  w/ Beach Slang

Japanese Breakfast
Manchester, UK - The White Hotel

Los Angeles, CA - Union

Ryley Walker
Tallahasee, FL - Wolf Den

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed