READ // Photographer Cameron Wittig Discusses Album Art For ‘Dark Bird Is Home’ From The Tallest Man On Earth Via Half-Past

DOC100full

Midwest photographer Cameron Wittig recently sat down with Half-Past to discuss the striking album cover on Dark Bird Is Home, the newest album from The Tallest Man On Earth (aka Sweden’s Kristian Matsson). What started as a ‘friendship birthed from a chance meeting, some friendly conversation, and copious Wisconsin wedding whisky’, the two met in 2014 at a felow musician’s country wedding. When the time came around for a new album cover, Matsson trusted Wittig to give a face to his new project. From the article (Which you can read in full here)-

“It was to be a photographic reinterpretation of stories that came out of discussions about the record and the recording process in Sweden. The figure of Dark Bird was born on a mountaintop near the town where Kristian lives. She may or may not be real. It doesn’t matter in the end, as she is more powerful as a specter, this beautiful figure of uncertainty and change.”

Primarily a portrait photographer, Cameron recruited the talents of a friend to be his model for the cover as they travelled around his neighborhood shooting on the steps of houses that felt just right.

“I asked her to stand on the steps of houses that I selected based on how they looked or felt. Nothing was planned ahead of time. We did maybe six or seven different houses in various ways. Some were fancy houses, some were not. A few were abandoned. But it was always this figure in an ambiguous stance. She looks like she could be returning; frozen in a moment of contemplation anticipating what might happen once she rings the bell. Or perhaps she’s leaving and taking one last look at what her life was before she leaves forever. I didn’t really decide what that was going to be.”

Purchase Dark Bird Is Home:
via Secretly Distribution
via iTunes
via Amazon
via independent stores

The Tallest Man On Earth is currently on tour. Full dates and tickets after the jump

THE TALLEST MAN ON EARTH TOUR DATES
[all dates + tix links: deadoceans.com/tour]
Wed. May 13 – Northampton, MA @ Calvin Theatre *
Thu. May 14 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre *
Sat. May 16 – Upper Darby, PA @ Tower Theatre *
Mon. May 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern #
Tue. May 19 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory #
Thu. May 21 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater #
Fri. May 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst #
Tue. May 26 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *
Wed. May 27 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium *
Thu. May 28 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel *
Fri. May 29 – Durham, NC @ Durham Performing Arts Center *
Sun. May 31 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre * – SOLD OUT
Mon. June 1 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre * – SOLD OUT
Tue. June 2 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg #
Wed. June 3 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre #
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 – Scheessel, De @ Hurricane Festival
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 – Munich, DE @ Southside Festival
Tue. June 23 – London, UK @ Koko – SOLD OUT
Wed. June 24 – Antwerp, BE @ Openlucht Theater
Thu. June 25 – Paris, FR @ Divan Du Monde – SOLD OUT
Sun. June 28 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon – SOLD OUT
Mon. June 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon – SOLD OUT
Tue. June 30 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller – SOLD OUT
Thu. July 2 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik – SOLD OUT
Sat. June 27–Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri. July 17-Sun. July19 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle
Fri. July 17 – Sat. July 18 – Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Mon. July 20 – Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre
Wed. July 22 – Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall @ Babeville #
Fri. July 24 – Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sat. July 25 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Sun. July 26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Carnegie Music Hall
Wed. July 29 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Thu. July 30 – Kansas City, MO @ Midland Theater
Fri. July 31 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Pabst Theater
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza
Fri. Aug. 21 – Sun. Aug. 23 – Portland, OR @ MusicfestNW
Sat. Sep. 5 – Holland, MI @ Hope College – Knickerbocker Theatre
Sat. Oct. 3 – Oslo, NO @ Opera House ^
Sun. Oct. 4 – Göteborg, SE @ Konserthuset ^
Mon. Oct. 5 – Stockholm, SE @ Cirkus ^
Tue. Oct. 6 – Umea, SE @ Idun ^
Thu. Oct. 8 – Linköping, SE @ Crusell ^
Fri. Oct. 9 – Falun, SE @ Magasinet ^
Sat. Oct. 10 – Arhus, DK @ Voxhall ^
Mon. Oct. 12 – Cologne, DK @ E-Werk ^
Tue. Oct 13 – Berlin, DE @ Huxley’s ^
Wed. Oct. 14 – Vienna, AT @ Arena ^
Thu. Oct. 15 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz ^
Fri. Oct. 16 – Zürich, CH @ Volkshaus ^
Sat. Oct. 17 – Paris, FR @ La Cigal ^
Mon. Oct. 19 – London, UK @ Roundhouse ^
Tue. Oct. 20 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 ABC ^
Wed. Oct. 21 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street ^
Fri. Oct. 23 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall ^
Sat. Oct. 24 – Bexhill, UK @ De La Warr ^
Sun. Oct. 25 – Brussels, BE @ AB ^
Tue. Oct. 27 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega ^

* with Madisen Ward and the Mama Bear
# with Hiss Golden Messenger
^ with Phil Cook

video

Vampire Again by Marlon Williams

Every Day's The Weekend by Alex Lahey

Road Head by Japanese Breakfast

City Music by Kevin Morby

5 out soon

Phoebe Bridgers
Stranger In The Alps
CD / LP
Alex Lahey
I Love You Like A Brother
CD / LP
Destroyer
ken
CD / LP