WATCH // Mitski Shares “Your Best American Girl” Video; ‘Puberty 2’ Out 6/17

Mitski’s phenomenal “Your Best American Girl” has been rolling around our heads, glued to the walls of our hearts, since it came out. Not to mention it’s received heaps of praise from the likes of NPR Music, The FADER, Pitchfork, and Rolling Stone, for its original portrayal of feeling “half Japanese, half American, but not fully either.”

Today, Mitski presents the absolutely perfect video for this bold number. Directed by Zia Anger with cinematography by Ashley Conner, art direction by Caiti Hawkins and styling by Creatures of the Wind, the “Your Best American Girl” video further plays on the idea of, as a Japanese girl, never quite fitting in with the genre’s surplus of white American guys, and is further proof that 2016 will be a breakout year for one Mitski Miyawaki.

Mitski on working with Zia Anger for the video,

“I’d admired Zia Anger’s videos from afar, like her wonderful work with Angel Olsen, so I knew the next time I make a music video I’d want to work with her. I hadn’t made a video with me in it for a long while – I think I tend to resist having to be looked at – but I figured I should use this opportunity to get the f*ck over it and come out from under my rock. And it was actually so fun playing dress up! I got to play a beautiful guitar in a beautiful dress with a professional camera crew, like I was reliving a daydream of my middle school self!”

On June 17th, Mitski will release her gutsy and gorgeous fourth studio album, Puberty 2. She’ll also tour Europe and North America extensively as a three-piece band: Mitski (bass/vocals), Callan Dwan (guitar) and Casey Weissbuch (drums). Japanese Breakfast and Jay Som will support. After already selling out her June 20th show at New York’s Bowery Ballroom, Mitski has announced a second New York show at Music Hall of Williamsburg on July 27th. You’ll find all her tour dates below!

DRiZYcNXAilsZAc7z_x65dI4tDGfV7UKN7lHnbAjkzY

Pre-order Puberty 2:
via Dead Oceans: http://smarturl.it/mitski
via iTunes: http://smarturl.it/mitski_it
via Amazon: http://smarturl.it/mitski_amz
Support your local independent record store: http://smarturl.it/mitski_ind

Mitski Tour Dates:
Sun. April 17 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique – solo show
Tues. April 19 – London, UK @ Birthdays – solo show
Thu. April 21 – Paris, FR @ La Mécanique Ondulatoire – solo show
Sat. April 23 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Basement – solo show
Mon. June 20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom * – SOLD OUT
Wed. June 22 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall *
Thu. June 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *
Fri. June 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA *
Sat. June 25 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel *
Sun. June 26 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *
Tue. June 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade: Purgatory *
Wed. June 29 – Birmingham, AL @ The Syndicate Lounge *
Fri. July 1 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s Downtown *
Sat. July 2 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder *
Sun. July 3 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links *
Tue. July 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge *
Wed. July 6 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room *
Thu. July 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
Fri. July 8 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill *
Sat. July 9 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club *
Mon. July 11 – Portland, OR @ Analog Theater *
Tue. July 12 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt *
Wed. July 13 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile *
Fri. July 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *
Sat. July 16 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *
Tue. July 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *
Wed. July 20 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Fri. July 22 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Sat. July 23 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz *
Mon. July 25 – Portland, ME @ SPACE Gallery *
Wed. July 27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

* w/ Japanese Breakfast and Jay Som