Kevin Morby Shares “1234,” Chats with NPR Music

Photo: Ebru Yildiz / Brooklyn Vegan

Yesterday, Kevin Morby hopped on the phone for a quick chat with NPR Music’s Bob Boilen to discuss “1234,” one of the more unusual songs off his forthcoming record, City Music (out 6/16). The chat about the short-and-sweet homage references the obvious name-drop of the Ramones, and how the song is a perfectly and condensed sentiment within the context of City Music. The album is a love letter to New York, its denizens and all their private and personal melodramas, and all the similar stories that reverberate in other cities across the world.

And believe us when we say that “1234” is an utterly catchy and wonderfully fitting tribute to the feeling of walking through city streets abuzz with energy, every corner packed full of stories.

Listen to “1234”:

Listen to Kevin & Bob’s Conversation on All Songs Considered:
http://bit.ly/morby1234

City Music was also named Vinyl Me, Please‘s Record of the Month, which means the vinyl subscription service’s 20k+ subscribers will have an opportunity to get a limited edition, white/orange tie-dye vinyl accompanied by a 12-page lyric booklet and a 12×12 art print by Robbie Simon.

Also, Kevin has included another special treat for those who pre-order City Music directly from Dead Oceans. Since the record reflects upon the cities Kevin has visited and loved, Dead Oceans pre-orders will include “A Guide To The Cities That Inspired City Music,” a pamphlet that points to his favorite locations in Kansas City, New York City, and Porto, three locations especially close to his heart.

Finally, Kevin’s European tour begins tonight with a performance at Primavera Sound in Barcelona. Last week, Kevin debuted his new songs for a sold out crowd at Bowery Ballroom in NYC, check out a review and photos here. Coming soon to a city near you.

Kevin Morby Tour Dates:
Thu. June 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. June 3 – London, UK @ Field Day
Thu. June 8 – Sun. June 11 – Manchester TN @ Bonnaroo
Fri. June 23 – Sun. June 25 – North Adams MA @ Solid Sound Festival
Tue. June 27 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. June 28 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. June 29 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
Sat. July 1 – Gdynia, PL @ Open’er Festival
Sun. July 2 – Berlin, DE @ Quasimodo
Mon. July 3 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom
Tue. July 4 – Montreux, CH @ Montreux Jazz Festival
Wed. July 5 – Düdingen, DE @ Bad Bonn
Thu. July 6 – Belfort, FR @ Eurockeennes
Fri. July 7 – Soliera/Modena, IT @ Artivive
Sun. July 9 – Brugge, BE @ Cactusfestival
Sun. July 9 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (9pm)
Tue. July 11 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Thu. July 13 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bock Super Rock
Sat. July 15 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sun. July 16 – Southwold, UK @ Latitude
Fri. July 28 – Newport RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Mon. Aug. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Tue. Aug 22 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Thu. Aug 24 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. Aug 25 – Fort Collins, CO @ Downtown Artey
Sat. Aug 26 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall
Mon. Aug 28 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge
Tue. Aug 29 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Thu. Aug 31 – Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn
Fri. Sep 1 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. Sep 2 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
Sun. Sep 3 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Mon. Sep 4 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PBD
Fri. Sep 8 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
Thu. Sep 7 – Sun. Sep 10 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival
Wed. Sep 13 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Fri. Sep 15 – Dallas, TX @ Sundown at Granada
Sat. Sep 16 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. Sep 18 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Tue. Sep 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Sep 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Sep 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Sun. Sep 23 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Tue. Nov. 7 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser
Wed. Nov. 8 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Thu. Nov. 9 – Lund, SE @ Mejeriet
Sun. Nov. 12 – Köln, DE @ Luxor
Wed. Nov. 15 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Fri. Nov. 17 – Ravenna, IT @ Bronson
Sat. Nov. 18 – Rome, IT @ Monk
Sun. Nov. 19 – Milan, IT @ Serraglio
Tue. Nov. 21 – Strasbourg, FR @ La Laiterie
Wed. Nov. 22 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106

video

One Rizla by Shame

The Body Is A Blade by Japanese Breakfast

5 out soon

Khruangbin
Con Todo El Mundo
CD / LP
Marlon Williams
Make Way For Love
CD / LP
Shame
Songs of Praise
CD / LP