Filed Under:Artists

RELEASE DAY // Marlon Williams’ Self Titled Debut Is Out Today, Worldwide

Marlon Williams broke out in stride with his incredible voice and masterful stage presence in Australia and New Zealand last year surrounding the release of his debut, self-titled album. He topped off the year winning Best Male Solo Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year at the New Zealand Music Awards, where he performed new single, “Dark Child,” attended the ARIA Awards in Australia, where he was nominated for Best Blues & Roots Album, and made his morning television debut performing“Hello Miss Lonesome” on “ABC Breakfast TV” in Australia.

Today, his self titled debut LP is out via Dead Oceans!

Order Marlon Williams’ Self Title LP now:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

Marlon William Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

02/28/16 Perth, AUPerth International Arts Festival
03/05/16 Parkville, AUSMelbourne Zoo
03/06/16 Castlemaine, AU – Theatre Royal
03/09/16 Auckland, NZPowerstation
03/11/16 Mosman, AUSTaronga Zoo
03/12/16 Lone Star Valley, AUSA Festival Called Panama
03/13/16 Adelaide, AUSWOMADelaide
03/14/16 Adelaide, AUSWOMADelaide
03/15/16 Austin, TXSXSW
04/05/16 Nottingham, UK – Bodega Social Club
04/06/16 Bristol, UK – The Louisiana
04/07/16 London, UK – St. Giles In The Fields
04/08/16 Brighton, UK – The Hope And Ruin
04/11/16 Berlin, DE – Privatclub
04/12/16 Hamburg, DE – Nochtspeicher
04/13/16 Cologne, DE – YUCA
04/14/16 Paris, FR – Le Pop Up Du Label
04/15/16 Bourges, FR – Le Printemps De Bourges
04/16/16 Brussels, BE – Ancienne Belgique
04/18/16 Dublin, IE – Whelans
04/19/16 Manchester, UK – The Night And Day Cafe
04/20/16 Glasgow, UK – King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
04/21/16 Birmingham, UK – Hare & Hounds
05/17/16 Ann Arbor, MIThe Ark *
05/18/16 Toronto, ONDanforth Music Hall *
05/20/16 New York, NYThe Town Hall *
05/21/16 Washington, DCLincoln Theatre *
05/22/16 Boston, MAWilbur Theatre *
05/24/16 Philadelphia, PAUnion Transfer *
05/26/16 Atlanta, GABuckhead Theatre *
05/27/16 New Orleans, LAThe Civic Theatre *
05/28/16 Dallas, TXThe Kessler Theatre *
05/30/16 Tucson, AZThe Rialto Theatre *
05/31/16 Los Angeles, CAThe Fonda Theatre *
06/02/16 San Francisco, CAGreat American Music Hall *
06/03/16 Portland, ORAladdin Theater *
06/04/16 Seattle, WANeptune Theatre *
06/05/16 Boise, IDEgyptian Theatre *
06/07/16 Boulder, COBoulder Theater *
06/08/16 Omaha, NESlowdown *
06/09/16 Minneapolis, MNVarsity Theater *
06/10/16 Milwaukee, WITurner Hall Ballroom *
06/11/16 Chicago, ILThalia Hall *

* w/ Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop

WATCH // Julianna Barwick Scores Zia Anger’s ‘I Remember Nothing,’ Watch It Here

Julianna Barwick has kept busy with a multitude of projects, performances, and more in the last year or so. Today we’re excited to share one of them with you! Julianna has written and performed the original score for director Zia Anger’s latest film, I Remember Nothing. The film follows the day in a life of a student, named Joan, who’s unaware she’s epileptic. To reflect the phases of a seizure, I Remember Nothing is structured in five sections. The cast features Lola Kirke(Mistress America, Gone Girl), Michael Cavadis (Wonder Boys, Girls), India Menuez (Up In The Air, Uncertain Terms), Adinah Dacynger (Uncertain Terms) and Poet Robert Kelly.

Julianna Barwick and Zia Anger have been collaborators for some time. She’s also directed music videos for Julianna, including the video for “One Half“. You could argue it was second nature, an “ah, of course!” moment for Zia to create a film with Julianna in mind. Here’s what Zia had to say about Julianna’s involvement,

“I wrote ‘I Remember Nothing’ knowing that Julianna would score the piece. The score was always meant to be this 6th and final piece of the main character of Joan (the other 5 being represented by on screen actresses.) When she was writing the score there was a moment where we actually sat down and I gave her direction, similar to the way I would direct actors. It was really a fascinating experience to say the least.”

 

WATCH // Bleached Share Video For New Single “Wednesday Night Melody”

“’Wednesday Night Melody’ perfectly captures the spirit of young adulthood, a time when you’re young and free and your whole life is ahead of you, but you’re often broke and consumed by angst. Bleached’s furious and fun sound, mixed with a slacker vibe, invites you to enjoy your youthful worries while they last.” — NPR Music’s “All Songs Considered”

 

“Like the band itself, the video tackles objectively unpleasant subject matter with cheeky panache, transforming it into a scuzzed-out garage pop ride.” — Noisey on “Wednesday Night Melody” video

 

“a sneering soundtrack to a souring relationship and a gentle reminder to keep on keepin’ on regardless.”

The FADER

 

“If lead single ‘Keep On Keepin’ On’ is any indication, the L.A. rockers have found a way to further indulge their punk desires with breezy pop vibes…the track chugs forward with driving, incessant guitar and a dangerous bass line that creeps in the background. — Consequence of Sound

 

Bleached have unveiled the video for their new single, “Wednesday Night Melody,” from their forthcoming album, Welcome The Worms, out April 1st on Dead Oceans. The video depicts Bleached band members, Jessie Clavin and Micayla Grace, coming home to find their lead singer, Jennifer Clavin, dead. But the band has an important gig that night at renowned L.A. rock club, The Smell, and the show must go on!

 

“We were so stoked we got to do this video with [director] Gil Kenan,” said Jennifer. “We’ve known each other for years from the Smell scene in L.A. I didn’t realize how well his concept for this video flowed with the lyrics until after we finished filming. The lyrics started off as a letter to myself and range from depicting the indulgence of vices to escape, sad reflection of the past, and into the acceptance of those feelings as a part of life and feeling hopeful for the future. So the fact that I play dead during this whole video was such an abstract take on it that it felt perfect.”

 

Upon the announcement of Welcome The Worms, Bleached is being recognized as a no-frills, not-to-be-missed rock band. Coming out of a particularly trying time in life, sisters Jessie and Jennifer dove head-first into music, siting unhealthy romantic endeavors, eviction and futile drunken nights as the inspiration behind their ambitious sophomore album. The band will be heading to SXSW and will then embark on their extensive North American tour in support of the record (all dates below).

 

Pre-order Welcome The Worms:

via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon

Support your local independent record store

Bleached Tour Dates:

Tue. Mar. 15 – Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Sun. Mar. 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger/Burger Hangover Festival

Thu. Mar. 24 – Fayetteville, AR @ On The Map Festival

Tue. Mar. 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones *

Wed. Mar. 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah*

Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar*

Mon. Apr. 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder*

Tue. Apr. 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s *

Wed. Apr. 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links *

Fri. Apr. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt *

Sat. Apr. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn *

Mon. Apr. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

Wed. Apr. 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9*

Fri. Apr. 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott*

Sat. Apr. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB *

Sun. Apr. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison*

Wed. Apr. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness*

Thu. Apr. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch*

Fri. Apr. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle*

Sat. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry*

Mon. Apr. 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge*

Tue. Apr. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court*

Thu. Apr. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Fri. Apr. 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza*

Sat. Apr. 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir *

Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill*

Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room*

Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom*

Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers

Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club

Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios

Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis

Tue. May 24 – Lille, FR @ Aeronof

Wed. May 25 – Everux, FR @ Abordage

Thu. May 26 – Metz, FR @ BAM

Fri. May 27 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum

Sat. May 28 – Antwerp, BL @ Het Bos

Mon. May 30 – Zurich, SW @ Eldorado

 

* with No Parents

LISTEN // Stream Marlon Williams’ Debut Album Via CBC Music, KEXP, KCMP, & KCRW, Tour Dates With Sam Beam (Iron And Wine) And Jesca Hoop

 
New Zealand’s Marlon Williams is quickly gaining recognition across the globe for his exceptionally evocative voice and remarkable stage presence. He’s just completed his first headline North American tour, selling out multiple cities, and culminating with a performance this morning on Chicago’s WGN Morning News. Following the release of his self-titled, debut album on Feb. 19 via Dead Oceans, Marlon will head to SXSW and then embark on his second North American tour, this time supporting Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop. Marlon (guitar, vocals) will be joined by Ben Woolley (bass/vocals). All dates are below.

 

Stream Marlon Williams’ Album Via CBC Music, KEXP, KCMP & KCRW:

http://music.cbc.ca/blogs/2016/2/First-Play-Marlon-Williams-self-titled

http://blog.kexp.org/2016/02/11/album-premiere-marlon-williams-marlon-williams/

http://www.thecurrent.org/feature/2016/02/11/marlon-williams-album-preview

http://www.kcrw.com/music/shows/album-preview/marlon-williams-marlon-williams/#

 

Order the album now:

 

Marlon Williams Tour Dates:

Sun. Feb. 28 – Perth, WA @ Perth International Arts Festival

Sat. March 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Zoo

Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation

Fri. March 11 – Sydney, AU @ Taronga Zoo

Sat. March 12 – Lonestar Valley, TAS @ A Festival Called Panama

Sun. March 13 – Mon. March 14 – Adelaide, SA @ Womadelaide

Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Tue. April 5 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega Social Club

Wed. April 6 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana

Thu. April 7 – London, UK @ St. Giles in the Fields

Fri. April 8 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope and Ruin

Mon. April 11 – Berlin, GE @ Privatclub

Tue. April 12 – Hamburg, GE @ Nochtspeicher

Wed. April 13 – Cologne, GE @ YUCA

Thu. April 14 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up Du Label

Fri. April 15- Bourges, FR @ Le Printemps de Bourges

Sat. April 16 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique

Mon. April 18 – Dublin, IR @ Whelan’s

Tue. April 19 – Manchester, UK @ The Night and Day Café

Wed. April 20 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

Thu. April 21 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds

Tue. May 17 – Ann Arbor, MI @ The Ark *

Wed. May 18 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *

Fri. May 20 – New York, NY @ The Town Hall *

Sat. May 21 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre *

Sun. May 22 – Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre *

Tue. May 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *

Thu. May 26 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *

Fri. May 27 – New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre *

Sat. May 28 – Dallas, TX @ The Kessler Theater *

Mon. May 30 – Tucson, AZ @ The Rialto Theatre *

Tue. May 31 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre *

Thu. Jun. 2 – San Francisco @ Great American Music Hall *

Fri. Jun. 3 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater *

Sat. Jun. 4 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre *

Sun. Jun. 5 – Boise, ID @ Egyptian Theatre *

Tue. Jun. 7 – Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theater *

Wed. Jun. 8 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown *

Thu. Jun. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater *

Fri. Jun. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom *

Sat. Jun. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

* with Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop

WATCH // Kevin Morby Releases Video For “I Have Been To The Mountain,” Shares Expanded Tour Dates (Incl. SXSW)

 

Today, Kevin Morby shares the first video and single off his forthcoming record, Singing Saw, out 4/15 on Dead Oceans. “I Have Been To The Mountain” is as angry a song as Kevin has written, which can almost be gleaned from the purposeful opening acoustic strum. “‘I Have Been To The Mountain’ is a song for those struck down by the hands of evil – senseless killings which have always overwhelmed our planet, but especially recently,” says Morby. “It’s dedicated to and inspired by the death of Eric Garner.

 

The video, directed by Phillip Lopez and starring dancer Nathan Mitchell, portrays a man on his deathbed that, upon death, is reborn as an exuberant and jovial presence, performing for no audience in glum surroundings. Perhaps just as interesting as the video and song is how Kevin and Phillip came to collaborate. Phillip had produced a short film called “Fred Astaire with a stomach full of Corn Chips and Valium” starring Mitchell and featuring his emotive dancing, which used Kevin’s song “Harlem River,” though it was uncredited. Morby loved the video, and reached out to Lopez asking for him to credit his song, which he happily did. When it came time to create a video for Singing Saw‘s first single, Kevin knew whom to tap for the job. Mitchell’s almost Buster Keaton-esque mannerisms are captivating to behold. “Kevin wanted to embrace the dancing of Nathan,” said Lopez, “and I had remembered a time in the hospital when a man was dying in the bed next to me, and his family was wailing in grief.  The moment he died, they were all silent, and i felt as if his soul danced around the place.  To me the message of the song resonated with this sort of nostalgic sagely wisdom, that empowers us even in death.”

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
Support your local independent record store: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_indie

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

(more info and tix here)

Thu. Feb. 25 – Rennes, FR @ La Route du Rock Winter Festival

Wed. Mar 16 – Fri. Mar. 18 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 0 Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

 

* w/ Jaye Bartell

Categories

Archive

  • May 2016
  • April 2016
  • March 2016

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed