Filed Under:Topics

RELEASE DAY // Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’ Out Worldwide Today

DOC111-1

Singing Saw is a breakthrough for just how fully formed it is, a beautifully structured and produced record that is nothing short of a triumph.” – NPR Music’s Songs We Love

“Kevin Morby’s superb third album is the sound of a man gently losing his mind to music and not caring that much at all.” – UNCUT, 9/10

Singing Saw is his strongest album because it shows a process of refinement, and because Morby’s songwriting has become less referential and more grounded. The basic ingredients haven’t changed, but Morby is figuring out how to retain and amplify his strongest points—his weary and wise voice, his understanding of how the musical pieces fit together—and leave everything else behind” – Pitchfork, Best New Music

Kevin Morby has long been an artist whose work we admire. So needless to say, we’re elated that today marks the release of his stunning Dead Oceans debut, Singing Saw. These songs were crafted on a left-behind upright piano at Morby’s new-found home in the hills of Los Angeles. Listening along you can practically feel the winding side streets of his neighborhood, see the skyline’s sweeping lights, and hear the wind rustle the dried out underbrush of the LA flora.

This is Morby’s most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism. Singing Saw is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Stream Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’, Out 4/15

kevinmorby-082-Edit

Today, Kevin Morby is streaming his incredible new record, Singing Saw, in full. That’s right! You can hear the whole thing right now thanks to a variety of radio partners throughout the US and Canada. We’re so excited to have CBC, KCRW from Los Angeles, KTBG from Kansas City (Kevin’s hometown), KCMP of Minneapolis, WXPN of Philadelphia on board to support Kevin’s stunning Dead Oceans debut.

STREAM SINGING SAW:
CBC – http://bit.ly/1N98ATA
KCRW – http://kcrw.co/1MVvsee
KTBG – http://bit.ly/1Nb5bn9
KCMP – http://www.thecurrent.org/
WXPN (starts @ 3PM EST) – http://www.xpn.org/
RADIO MILWAUKEE (starts @ 2PM EST) – http://radiomilwaukee.org

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Julianna Barwick Shares New Single “Same” Feat. Mas Ysa

We’ve reached the time of year where thunderstorms become more frequent, high and low temps colliding to dramatic affect. There’s a change in pressure that alerts of an oncoming storm. The wind picks up, as does the hair on the back of your neck. Julianna Barwick’s new single “Same” is that charge in the air. Read the rest of this entry »

ANNOUNCE // Destroyer Announces “My Mystery” 12-inch + Remix by DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com, Extensive European + Asian Tour

In autumn 2015, Destroyer released Poison Season — a treasure trove of mid-’70s Bowie-esque thumpers, string-laden laments and E Street horns—to universal acclaim, following it up with a mammoth 8-piece band tour around North America and Europe. Recorded in the same sessions as Poison Season, the song “My Mystery” was a huge favorite yet somehow felt like it didn’t quite fit on the album. So we are pleased to be able to share it now in advance of Destroyer’s forthcoming tours of Europe and Southeast Asia. A limited 12-inch will be released on 6 May.

Says Bejar: “We recorded a song called “My Mystery” a year and a half ago. Kind of a light number, vaguely danceable. Wistful, looking back not unfondly on time spent and dull misadventures had within the dead-as-a-doornail music industry. And the feeling of where it leaves you, like a rat in the middle of the ocean, though not as harsh as that; as if rats could swim an ocean’s length.

Then one day DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com called me up and said, “You got any shit for me?”…

So here it is, the video that features the remix by DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com (who also plays in the live band and has remixed Destroyer on prior singles). Shot in Mexico City, by Nicloas Bragg, the director says, “‘An ideal city must contain elements of magic, serenity, sorcery and mystery…’ -Luis Barragan. Night falls on CDMX and Destroyer dreams of chasing architects along the oval horse track surrounding Parque Mexico. Old dogs, old men and old Bejar stray into the mesh of fountains, facades and blood orange flumes. “My Mystery” captures our last hours in Mexico City. Taco stands and mezcal bars point the way — all while people keep death in their wine-sloshed eyes. “

Destroyer will be playing their debut shows in Asia this April in China, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand and will be back in Europe for more dates this coming June. All dates are listed below!
Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Kevin Morby Plays Un Soirée De Poche For La Blogotheque, Including New Songs

Kevin Morby‘s new record, Singing Saw, will be released April 15th, and you can watch now as he plays several new songs from the record, the title tune from 2013’s Harlem River, and a Bob Dylan cover for a rapt audience on a Paris porch for La Blogotheque.

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

Categories

Archive

  • May 2016
  • April 2016
  • March 2016

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed