Filed Under:Topics

Alex Lahey’s ‘B-Grade University’ EP Out Now, Listen to “You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me (triple j Like A Version)”

Stream and/or Purchase B-Grade University EP:
https://alexlahey.lnk.to/B-GradeUniversity

Summer didn’t so much as creep this year, it was more of a bull in a china shop. It’s the kind of hot that makes you want to hop in the car, throw down the windows and just get the hell out of town. Luckily for you (and for us), Alex Lahey’s given us the perfect accompaniment for such a summer. Widescreen, anthemic and utterly catchy – we’re talking humidity clinging to the hot pavement sticky – Lahey’s music is damn near essential catharsis. And now you can cop her EP, which she initially released on her own label, on a 12″. Perfect for late night dance parties, or signing into your hairbrush solo. You’ll want this in your cabinet.

Plus today we’re excited to share a version of her killer track “You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me” recorded on triple J’s Like A Version. Check it out below. While we’re rolling with good news, be sure to keep your eyes peeled on new material coming later this summer. In the meantime you can catch Lahey on tour! All dates at the bottom of the post.

Hear “You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me (triple j Like A Version)”:

Alex Lahey Tour Dates:
10/26/17 – Brussels, BE – Botanique Witloofbar
10/27/17 – Rotterdam, NL – V11
10/30/17 – Cologne, DE – Blue Shell
10/31/17 – Hamburg, DE – Molotow Musikclub
11/01/17 – Berlin, DE – Privat Club
11/03/17 – Munich, DE – Kranhalle
11/04/17 – Stuttgart, DE – Keller Klub
11/05/17 – Fribourg, DE – Espace culturel Le Nouveau Monde
11/06/17 – Paris, FR – La Mécanique Ondulatoire
11/08/17 – London, UK – Boston Music Room
11/09/17 – Bristol, UK – The Louisiana
11/10/17 – Leeds, UK – Brudenell Social Club
11/11/17 – Manchester, UK – Deaf Institute
11/12/17 – Glasgow, UK – King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

Kevin Morby’s ‘City Music’ Out Now Worldwide

Stream and/or Purchase City Music:
kevinmorby.lnk.to/citymusic

We’re incredibly pleased and proud to say that Kevin Morby’s City Music is out today. That’s right, you can click that link above and hear a fantastic ode to cities and their shifting sidewalks, vibrating energies and shared stories – right now. The future is a wild place my friends. We hope you give this record a listen. That memories of friends, late nights, spilling out of bars all come back in a wonderful warm haze. This is a love letter to all a city can contain, to the life it gives. Thank you for listening.

Kevin Morby is currently on a worldwide tour in support of City Music. Catch he & his band’s unmissable live show when they come to your town! All dates below.

Praise for City Music

City Music maps a landscape of uncertainty and wonder, Morby first steadying the wheel with his sure songwriting, then letting it spin. We’ve all been there, but not quite like this.”
– Q Magazine – 4 Stars ****

City Music evokes the Velvets, Dylan and Patti Smith, simultaneously celebrating and mourning the Big Apple’s changes.”
– Uncut – 9/10

“City living might sometimes feel like a constant high–intensity assault course, but City Music and its creator make it sound like an enlightening, emboldening adventure.”
– DIY – 4 Stars

“It feels like Kevin Morby is eager to reach a new horizon… This is a very natural sounding record, effortless in form, stylistically distinct and completely coherent, that shimmers with a lazy cool.”
– Loud & Quiet – 8/10

“A charmingly wide–eyed record, City Music is the equal of anything in Kurt Vile or Mac Demarco’s canons, let alone his own formidable catalogue.”
– London In Stereo

“Channelling Lou Reed, Velvet Underground and Patti Smith, this is about cities glimpsed in poetic, fragmentary dreams.”
– MOJO

Kevin Morby Tour Dates:
Thu. June 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. June 3 – London, UK @ Field Day
Thu. June 8 – Sun. June 11 – Manchester TN @ Bonnaroo
Fri. June 23 – Sun. June 25 – North Adams MA @ Solid Sound Festival
Tue. June 27 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. June 28 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. June 29 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
Sat. July 1 – Gdynia, PL @ Open’er Festival
Sun. July 2 – Berlin, DE @ Quasimodo
Mon. July 3 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom
Tue. July 4 – Montreux, CH @ Montreux Jazz Festival
Wed. July 5 – Düdingen, DE @ Bad Bonn
Thu. July 6 – Belfort, FR @ Eurockeennes
Fri. July 7 – Soliera/Modena, IT @ Artivive
Sun. July 9 – Brugge, BE @ Cactusfestival
Sun. July 9 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (9pm)
Tue. July 11 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Thu. July 13 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bock Super Rock
Sat. July 15 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sun. July 16 – Southwold, UK @ Latitude
Fri. July 28 – Newport RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Mon. Aug. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Tue. Aug 22 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Thu. Aug 24 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. Aug 25 – Fort Collins, CO @ Downtown Artey
Sat. Aug 26 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall
Mon. Aug 28 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge
Tue. Aug 29 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Thu. Aug 31 – Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn
Fri. Sep 1 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. Sep 2 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
Sun. Sep 3 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Mon. Sep 4 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PBD
Fri. Sep 8 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
Thu. Sep 7 – Sun. Sep 10 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival
Wed. Sep 13 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Thu. Sep 14 – Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater
Fri. Sep 15 – Dallas, TX @ Sundown at Granada
Sat. Sep 16 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. Sep 18 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Tue. Sep 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Sep 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Sep 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Sun. Sep 23 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Tue. Nov. 7 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser
Wed. Nov. 8 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Thu. Nov. 9 – Lund, SE @ Mejeriet
Sun. Nov. 12 – Köln, DE @ Luxor
Wed. Nov. 15 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Fri. Nov. 17 – Ravenna, IT @ Bronson
Sat. Nov. 18 – Rome, IT @ Monk
Sun. Nov. 19 – Milan, IT @ Serraglio
Tue. Nov. 21 – Strasbourg, FR @ La Laiterie
Wed. Nov. 22 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106

Slowdive Announce More US Tour Dates, Watch NPR Music’s Field Recording

NPR Music took Slowdive to a retro shuffleboard parlor while they were in NYC this May. In a setting Wes Anderson would be proud of they did a gorgeous, shimmering take of “Sugar For The Pill” off their self-titled LP. Released last month, Slowdive is one of the best-reviewed albums of the year so far. Following a sold out North American tour in advance of its release, the band are announcing a return to the continent in the fall, to perform in cities both new and old. Prior to that, they’ll be appearing at FYF Fest in Los Angeles on July 21st. Watch the NPR Music Field Recording above and check out their full list of dates below.


Watch Slowdive’s NPR Music Field Recording
http://n.pr/2s3U0tC


Stream Slowdive
https://slowdive.lnk.to/slowdive


Slowdive Tour Dates (New dates in bold)
Fri. June 16 – Sun. June 18 – Mannheim, DE @ Maifeld Derby
Sat. July 1 – Roskilde, Denmark @ Roskilde Festival
Thurs. July 6 – Trencin, Slovakia @ Pohoda Festival
Fri. July 7 – Madrid, ES @ Mad Cool Festival
Sun. July 9 – Six Four Les Plages, France@ Pointu Festival
Fri. July 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Fest
Fri. July 28- South Korea @ Valley Rock Festival
Sun. July 30 – Tahar Shi, Japan @ Fuji Rock Festival
Sat. Aug. 19 – Trondheim, Norway @ Pstereo Festival
Fri. 25 Aug. – Switzerland @ Nox Orae Festival
Sat. Aug. 27 – Paris, France @ Rock En Seine Festival
Thu. Aug. 31 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Sat. Sept. 2 – Milano, Italy @ Un Altro Festival
Thu. Sept. 7 – Tel Aviv, Israel @ Barby Club
Fri. Sept. 15 – Sat. 16 Sept. – Angers, France @ Levitation Fest
Sun. Sept. 17 – Birmingham, UK @ Beyond the Tracks Festival
Fri. Sept. 29 – Dortmund, Germany @Way Back When Festival
Sat. Sept. 30 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ DR Koncerthuset
Mon. Oct. 2 – Warsaw, Poland – @ Palladium
Tues. Oct. 3 – Berlin, Germany @ Huxley’s
Weds. Oct. 4 – Hamburg, Germany @Uebel & Gefaehrlich
Fri. Oct. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sat. Oct. 7 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique
Mon. Oct. 9 – Glasgow, UK @ ABC
Tues. Oct. 10 – Manchester, UK @Albert Hall
Weds. Oct. 11 – Leeds, UK @ Town Hall
Fri. Oct. 13 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Mon. Oct. 23 – Vancouver, BC @ The Commodore
Wed. Oct. 25 – Seattle, WA @ The Neptune
Thu. Oct. 26 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Sat. Oct. 28 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
Wed. Nov. 1 – Denver, CO @ The Ogden
Sat. Nov. 4 – Madison, WI @ Barrymore Theatre
Sun. Nov. 5 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
Tue. Nov. 7 – Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Wed. Nov. 8 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Thu. Nov. 9 – Buffalo, NY @ Town Hall
Fri. Nov. 10 – Toronto, ON @ CANADA @ Massey Hall
Sat. Nov. 11 – New Haven, CT @ College St Music Hall
Sun. Nov. 12 – New York City, NY @ Terminal 5
Tue. Nov. 14 – Boston,MA @ Paradise
Wed. Nov. 15 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Thu. Nov. 16 – Baltimore, MD @ Ram’s Head
Fri. Nov. 17 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel

Tickets available from www.slowdiveofficial.com/


Praise for Slowdive

“A precise and altogether gorgeous showcase of their peerless ability at production, mood, and songcraft.” – Pitchfork [Best New Music]

“Listening to Slowdive is like watching the sunrise and sunset at once — an awe-inspiring chorus of the galaxy.” – NPR Music

“Slowdive carries all the right baggage from the band’s past, but the album leaves no question about the direction they’re traveling in. They’re carrying this sound towards the future.” – Stereogum

“Throughout Slowdive, the band use foggy images and slippery transitions as a soothing sort of déjà vu—you feel like you’ve been here before, even though you obviously haven’t.” – SPIN [SPIN Essential]

“With this self-titled record, their first in 22 years, Slowdive definitively prove that some bands have enough creative juice to get back together and make some incredible music.” – Vulture

“The result is as beautiful and stilling as ever.” – AV Club

“Dreamy vocals, thick melancholia, heavy guitar treatments. And ‘Slomo,’ the opening track, is a goddamn minor miracle. Welcome back, shoegaze friends.” – Newsweek

Shame Sign to Dead Oceans, Share “Visa Vulture”

We’re ecstatic to welcome Shame to the fold. “Our music is about wanting to provoke something,” says Charlie Steen, 19-year-old lead singer of London’s most talked-about young band. “It’s not about standing onstage and singing pretty love songs. It’s about confrontation, energy, adrenaline and anarchy.” Since starting out as school boys, this five-piece band has become notorious for stealing every stage with the outrageous, jaw-dropping performances that have become the Shame signature.

Ardent fans will be familiar with song and it’s sentiment – “Visa Vulture” is a tongue-in-cheek ode to Theresa May, a darkly comical and raw take on the tense political climate. The refrain “won’t you let me stay”, is used to chilling effect. “We wrote Visa Vulture when May was only Home Secretary and we’re happy to make it widely available on the eve of probably the most important election we’ll ever vote in as a rallying cry, a wish that we’ll never have to pen another Tory bashing song for at least another 5 years come June 8th”, says the band.

As always, with their music and live shows alike, provocation is used as a tool for discussion.

Having already cemented themselves as a must-see live act, Shame have an impressive run of dates. Summer festival dates include Glastonbury, Reading and Leeds, Latitude, Green Man and End of the Road, with autumn club shows slated for October. Shame will play their biggest headline London show to date at the Scala. See full dates below.

Shame are: Charlie Steen (vocals), Sean Coyle-Smith (guitar), Eddie Green (guitar), Josh Finerty (bass), Charlie Forbes (drums)


Listen to ‘Visa Vulture’ – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yztNOX0H8HE
Listen to ‘Tasteless’ – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tpi4V1bUEzM&t=52s
Listen to ‘Gold Hole’ – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYOqO-zJzho
Listen to ‘The Lick’ – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1TQXYl8_f0


Shame Tour Dates:

09/06/17 – Nimes, This is Not A Love Song
10/07/17 – Paris, We Love Green
15/06/17 – Nickelsdorf, Nova Rock
23/06/17 – Glastonbury, Glastonbury Festival
29/06/17 – Roskilde, Roskilde Festival
30/06/17 – Vilanova, Vida Festival
01/07/17 – Cleremont – Ferrand, Europavox Festival
13/07/17 – Carhaix, Veilles Charrues
14/07/17 – Southwold, Latitude Festival
15/07/17 – Tonsburg, Slotsfjell
22/07/17 – Neon, Paleo Festival
28/07/17 – Carbourg, Carboug Mon Amour
29/07/17 – Lowther, Kendall Calling
05/08/17 – London, Visions Festival
08/08/17 – Rees-Haldern, Haldern Pop
11/08/17 – Kent, Leefest
12/08/17 – Oslo, Oya Festival
17/08/17 – Trondheim, Pstereo Festival
18/08/17 – Bigginghuizen, Lowlands Festival
19/08/17 – Haselt, Pukklepop
20/08/17 – Brecon Beacans, Green Man Festival
26/08/17 – Reading, Reading Festival
27/08/17 – Leeds, Leeds Festival
03/09/17 – Salisbury, End of the Road
02 – 06/09/17 – Reykjavik, Iceland Airwaves
09/10/17 – Bristol, Louisiana
10/10/17 – Leeds, The Lending Room
11/10/17 – Manchester, Soup Kitchen
12/10/17 – Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete’s
13/10/17 – Liverpool, Buyer’s Club
14/10/17 – Dublin, Workman’s Club
18/10/17 – London, Scala
23/10/17 – Hamburg, Molotow Sky Bar
24/10/17 – Copenhagen, Loppen
25/10/17 – Beling, Musik & Frieden
26/10/17 – Cologne, Underground


Shame online:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shamebanduk/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/shamebanduk
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/shamebanduk
Website: https://shamebanduk.bandcamp.com/

Phoebe Bridgers Signs To Dead Oceans; Debut Album Coming Soon

“2017’s Best New Artist Might Just Be Phoebe Bridgers” – NPR MUSIC

We’re incredibly pleased to welcome Phoebe Bridgers to the Dead Oceans family. The debut album by the Los Angeles-based songwriter will be released later this year.

The 22 year-old Bridgers’ released her recent single, “Smoke Signals” – a breathtaking track that manages effortlessly to be a wounded love song as well as a five-and-a-half minute kiss-off to a generally cataclysmic 2016 – in early January, and in turn drew high praise from outlets including NPR Music, Billboard, NYLON, Stereogum, and The Los Angeles Times, among others. A video of her performing a stripped-down version of the song, filmed in Austin, TX, during SXSW for NPR Music’s ‘South X Lullaby’ series, can also be seen here: https://n.pr/2mTH4pR. Writing songs since age 11, Bridgers spent her teenage years performing at open mic nights and busking throughout her hometown before recording a debut three-song single, “Killer,” with Ryan Adams in his L.A. studio. “Killer” was released on Adams’ Pax-Am label in spring of 2015.

Listen to/purchase “Smoke Signals”: https://phoebebridgers.lnk.to/smokesignals

Bridgers has spent much of the past 12 months on the road with artists including Ryan Adams, Julien Baker, and Conor Oberst, with whom she’ll tour again in North America this September. The tour will begin on September 1st in Bellingham, WA and run throughout the northern U.S. and into Canada before wrapping up on the 17th in Bloomington, IL. First, she will head overseas for a June 28th show supporting Whitney in Paris, FR, as well as two headlining shows of her own on July 4th in Amsterdam, NL and July 5th in London, UK. A current itinerary is below.

More news on Bridgers’ debut album will be announced soon.

Phoebe Bridgers tour dates:

June 28 Paris, FR @ Cafe de la Danse*
July 4 Amsterdam, NL @ Theatre De Roode bioscoop
July 5 London, UK @ St. Pancras Old Church
Sept. 1 Bellingham, WA @ Wild Buffalo**
Sept. 3 Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Aphitheatre
Sept. 5 Billings, MT @ Pub Station Ballroom**
Sept. 7 St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre**
Sept. 8 Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theatre**
Sept. 9 Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre**
Sept. 10 Kalamazoo, MI @ State Theatre**
Sept. 12 Ithaca, NY @ State Theatre**
Sept. 13 Toronto, ONT @ Danforth Music Hall**
Sept. 14 Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall at Babeville**
Sept. 15 Pittsburgh, PA @ Carnegie Music Hall**
Sept. 16 Cincinnati, OH @ Taft Theatre**
Sept. 17 Bloomington, IL @ Castle Theatre**
* supporting Whitney
** supporting Conor Oberst

Follow Phoebe:
www.phoebefuckingbridgers.com
www.facebook.com/phoebebridgers
www.twitter.com/phoebe_bridgers

Categories

Archive

  • June 2017
  • May 2017
  • April 2017