Filed Under:US

WATCH // Julianna Barwick Shares “Same” Video; ‘Will’ Out Now

Julianna Barwick’s music belongs to a pocket universe. That is to say, it’s other-worldly yet tethered to our current state of time and place. Earthly elements (vocals, keys, etc.) are contorted, folded, layered to dizzying effect. Her new album, Will, makes for a great case study. “Same”, the second single off Will, is our case in point – and now it has a captivating video to boot. Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Stream Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’, Out 4/15

kevinmorby-082-Edit

Today, Kevin Morby is streaming his incredible new record, Singing Saw, in full. That’s right! You can hear the whole thing right now thanks to a variety of radio partners throughout the US and Canada. We’re so excited to have CBC, KCRW from Los Angeles, KTBG from Kansas City (Kevin’s hometown), KCMP of Minneapolis, WXPN of Philadelphia on board to support Kevin’s stunning Dead Oceans debut.

STREAM SINGING SAW:
CBC – http://bit.ly/1N98ATA
KCRW – http://kcrw.co/1MVvsee
KTBG – http://bit.ly/1Nb5bn9
KCMP – http://www.thecurrent.org/
WXPN (starts @ 3PM EST) – http://www.xpn.org/
RADIO MILWAUKEE (starts @ 2PM EST) – http://radiomilwaukee.org

Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Kevin Morby Plays Un Soirée De Poche For La Blogotheque, Including New Songs

Kevin Morby‘s new record, Singing Saw, will be released April 15th, and you can watch now as he plays several new songs from the record, the title tune from 2013’s Harlem River, and a Bob Dylan cover for a rapt audience on a Paris porch for La Blogotheque.

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

NEW VIDEO // Kevin Morby Shares New Video For “Dorothy” And New Tour Dates

 
Today, Kevin Morby shares “Dorothy” the second single and video off his forthcoming album, Singing Saw (out 4/15 on Dead Oceans). The song, a self-reflection of Kevin’s life as a musician on the road, is named after his guitar, which is in turn named after his grandmother. “Being a musician, when you find yourself at home and off of tour, all the people, places and things you encountered on tour seem like some wild dream,” says Kevin. “Dorothy, my guitar, represents the people I’ve encountered and experiences I’ve had over the past 7 years of touring, because she has always been there with me.” The video for “Dorothy” is a beautiful representation of this sentiment. It follows a very mobile Morby as he traverses and passes by seemingly surreal situations, the fever dream that is the road for him and so many other musicians like him.

Also, Kevin has added some new dates to his tour. He was one of the best artists at SXSW last week, according to many, including Entertainment Weekly, who said “In a blistering Wednesday evening set at Mohawk’s House of Vans event, the former member of psych-folk outfit Woods and his backing band jammed with melodic intensity — many of those tunes from Morby’s upcoming album Singing Saw that called to mind Desire-era Bob Dylan.”

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

NEW VIDEO // The Tallest Man On Earth Shares Beautiful “Short Film About Dark Bird Is Home,” New Tour Dates

The Guardian described The Tallest Man on Earth’s critically acclaimed album The Dark Bird is Home as “more than usually opaque”; with lyrics that allude to personal struggles. The recording of the album lent itself to create music that felt raw and meaningful and today we’re happy to share a short film on the process, directed by Dan Huiting and Lauren Josephine.

Recorded in Kristian Matsson’s native Sweden, we get a glimpse of the beautiful backdrop that was integral to the album’s creation, with Matsson poetically narrating in both Swedish and English parts, as well as a peak into the rustic, simple cabin-come-recording studio that birthed the latest album.

This June, The Tallest Man on Earth will embark on a US tour followed by his biggest European show to date, London’s legendary Royal Albert Hall. Full list of dates below.

 

   

THE TALLEST MAN ON EARTH TOUR DATES

*new dates in bold*

Sun. May 29 – Appleton, WI @ LU-aroo*

Tue. May 31 – Madison, WI @ Barrymore Theatre

Wed. June 1 – Bloomington, IN @ Buskirk-Chumley Theatre

Thu. June 2 – Louisville, KY @ W.L. Lyons Brown Theatre

Fri. June 3 – Knoxville, TN @ Bijou Theatre

Thu. June 2 – Sun. June 5 – Nelsonville, OH @ Nelsonville Music Festival

Mon. June 6 – Norfolk, VA @ The NorVa

Tue. June 7 – Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater

Wed. June 8 – Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live

Fri. June 10 – Leesburg, VA @ Tally Ho Theatre

Sat. June 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore

Fri. July 1 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall

Sat. July 2 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre

Sun. July 3 – Albany, NY @ Hart Theatre @ The Egg

Tue. July 5 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre

Wed. July 6 – Portsmouth, NH @ Prescott Park Arts Festival

Fri. July 8 – Ottawa, ON @ Ottawa Bluesfest

Sat. July 9 – Quebec, QC @ Festival d’Ete International de Quebec

Mon. July 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Danforth Music Hall

Fri. July 15 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre

Sat. July 16 – Eau Claire, WI @ State Theatre

Mon. July 18 – Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room

Thu. July 21 – Sun. July 24 – Calgary, AB @ Calgary Folk Festival

Tue. June 21 – London, UK @ Royal Albert Hall

Wed. Aug. 17 – Fri. Aug. 19 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop

Tue. Aug. 16 – Wed. Aug. 17 – Bloemendaal, NL @ Openlunchttheater Caprera

Wed. Aug. 17 – Sat. Aug. 20 – Paredes de Coura, Portugal @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Mon. Sept. 5 – Helsinki, FN @ Tavastia

 

* = student only show

Categories

Archive

  • May 2016
  • April 2016
  • March 2016

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed