Filed Under:Hello Miss Lonesome

WATCH // Marlon Williams & The Yarra Benders Make Late Night Debut on Conan

Anyone who has seen Marlon Williams live can attest New Zealand’s rising star has something truly special going on with his spectacular voice and stage presence. He’s previously captivated audiences performing on Ireland’s The Late Late Show, Later…with Jools Holland, and at the New Zealand Music Awards where he won Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Best Male Solo Artist. Last night on CONAN, Marlon Williams & The Yarra Benders delivered a terrific stateside late night television debut, performing “Hello Miss Lonesome.” How often do you hear the crowd cheer mid-song?! Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Marlon Williams Shares Video For “Hello Miss Lonesome,” Adds US Headlining Dates

New Zealand artist Marlon Williams will release his self-titled, debut album on February 19th on Dead Oceans. With his exceptionally versatile and evocative voice, Williams truly inhabits his material and presents a remarkably assured and diverse debut. The album’s rollicking, acrobatic opening, “Hello Miss Lonesome,” features Williams’ vocals soaring atop bluegrass guitars and a tight snare. It’s accompanying video, directed by Damien Shatford, is a heady visual counterpart presenting Miss Lonesome as an emotional chameleon, dragging Williams through a confusing internal space. Five different actors, each with the same aesthetic but different emotional rules, comprise Miss Lonesome. One may notice nods to Todd Solondz’s “Palindromes,” or that famous bathhouse scene in “Eastern Promises.” Visit The FADER for Williams’ take on the shoot.

Marlon Williams & The Yarra Benders’ first headline tour in North America kicks off in late January. The band will be a four piece: Marlon Williams (guitar/vocals), Gus Agars (drum/vocals), Ben Woolley (bass/vocals) and Dave Khan (electric guitar/mandolin/fiddle/vocals). All dates are below.

Pre-order Marlon Williams:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Your local independent record store

Marlon William Tour Dates:
(tix and info here)
Thu. Nov. 12 – Maroochydore, AU @ Sol Bar
Fri. Nov. 13 – Currumbin, AU @ Solid Lounge
Sat. Nov. 14 – Brisbane, AU @ Woolly Mammoth
Sun. Nov. 15 – Byron Bay, AU @ Byron Theare
Mon. Nov. 16 – Bellingen, AU @ St Margaret’s Hall
Fri. Nov. 20 – Newcastle, AU @ The Small Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 21 – Sydney, AU @ Oxford Arts Factory
Sun. Nov. 22 – Milton, New South Wales @ Milton Theatre
Tue. Nov. 24 – Wollongong, New South Wales @ Rad Bar
Wed. Nov. 25 – Canberra, AU @ Transit Bar
Fri. Nov. 27 – Melbourne, AU @ Prince Bandroom
Sat. Nov. 28 – Hunter Valley, New South Wales @ A Day on the Green, Hunter Valley NSW #
Sun. Nov. 29 – Mount Cotton, Queensland @ A Day on the Green #
Thu. Dec. 3 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. Dec. 4 – Darwin, AU @ Railway Club
Sun. Dec. 6 – Yarra Valley, VIC @ A Day on the Green #
Thu. Dec. 10 – Geelong, VIC @ The Workers Club
Fri. Dec. 11 – Newport, VIC @ The Substation
Sat. Dec. 12 – Barossa Valley, AU @ A Day on the Green #
Sun. Dec. 13 – Kings Park, AU @ A Day on the Green #
Thu. Jan. 21 – London, UK @ St. Pancras Old Church
Fri. Jan. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club
Sun. Jan. 31 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Tue. Feb. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar
Wed. Feb. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Fri. Feb. 5 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Sat. Feb. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Dakota Tavern
Mon. Feb. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Tue. Feb. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Wed. Feb. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation
Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

# w/ Paul Kelly, Lucinda Williams + Kasey Chambers

ALBUM ANNOUNCE // Marlon Williams And NPR Share “Hello Miss Lonesome” From Upcoming Album ‘Marlon Williams’

doc112

These guys are on fire.” – NPR Music’s All Songs Considered

Marlon Williams has a voice that’s always a surprise when it arrives. It’s not just that he can sing – and he can! – it’s the way he sings, which is so completely at ease, yet in total thrall to the lyric, that makes his audience hold its breath to better absorb each note. It’s a power that’s easy to recognise and hard to explain.” – New Zealand Herald

With one of the purest voices in modern music, and the charisma and individuality to match, the world is about to discover Marlon Williams. The twenty-four year-old, New Zealand-born singer, songwriter and performer will release his wonderfully captivating self-titled debut album next year on Dead Oceans. An initial listen to this debut and one can easily hear Williams’ roots of growing up singing in a catholic choir before being introduced to country music in his teens by his father, a Maori punk singer. And now, not even a decade has passed, and Williams is already in line for five awards at next month’s New Zealand Music Awards. There’s no denying – Marlon Williams is certainly one to watch for in 2016. After making his North American debut with a slew of intimate solo performances last month at CMJ, Williams has just been announced to perform at SXSW accompanied by his band, The Yarra Benders.

Today, Williams is sharing rollicking album opener, “Hello Miss Lonesome.” It’s a powerful welcome with William’s vocals soaring atop bluegrass guitars and a tight snare.

Marlon Williams is out February 19th on Dead Oceans, and available for pre-order now. All iTunes pre-orders come with an instant free download of “Hello Miss Lonesome.”

Pre-Order Marlon Williams now:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

Marlon Williams Tracklisting:
1. Hello Miss Lonesome
2. After All
3. Dark Child
4. I’m Lost Without You
5. Lonely Side Of Her
6. Silent Passage
7. Strange Things
8. When I Was A Young Girl
9. Everyone’s Got Something To Say

Marlon William Tour Dates:
Wed. Oct. 28 – Paris, FR @ La Mecanique Ondulatoire
Thu. Oct. 29 – Gent, BE @ Trefpunt
Fri. Oct. 30 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso – London Calling Festival
Sat. Oct. 31 – Hamburg, DE @ Mojo Jazz Café
Sun. Nov. 1 – Berlin, DE @ Gruener Salon
Thu. Nov. 5 – Perth, AU @ Four 5 Nine
Fri. Nov. 6 – Bunbury, AU @ Prince of Wales
Sat. Nov. 7 – Fremantle, AU @ Fly By Night
Sat. Nov. 8 – Dunsborough, AU @ Clancy’s Fish Pub
Thu. Nov. 12 – Maroochydore, AU @ Sol Bar
Fri. Nov. 13 – Currumbin, AU @ Solid Lounge
Sat. Nov. 14 – Brisbane, AU @ Woolly Mammoth
Sun. Nov. 15 – Byron Bay, AU @ Byron Theare
Mon. Nov. 16 – Bellingen, AU @ St Margaret’s Hall
Fri. Nov. 20 – Newcastle, AU @ The Small Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 21 – Sydney, AU @ Oxford Arts Factory
Sun. Nov. 22 – Milton, New South Wales @ Milton Theatre
Tue. Nov. 24 – Wollongong, New South Wales @ Rad Bar
Wed. Nov. 25 – Canberra, AU @ Transit Bar
Fri. Nov. 27 – Melbourne, AU @ Prince Bandroom
Sat. Nov. 28 – Hunter Valley, New South Wales @ A Day on the Green, Hunter Valley NSW #
Sun. Nov. 29 – Mount Cotton, Queensland @ A Day on the Green #
Thu. Dec. 3 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. Dec. 4 – Darwin, AU @ Railway Club
Sun. Dec. 6 – Yarra Valley, VIC @ A Day on the Green #
Thu. Dec. 10 – Geelong, VIC @ The Workers Club
Fri. Dec. 11 – Newport, VIC @ The Substation
Sat. Dec. 12 – Barossa Valley, AU @ A Day on the Green #
Sun. Dec. 13 – Kings Park, AU @ A Day on the Green #
Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation
Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

# w/ Paul Kelly, Lucinda Williams + Kasey Chambers

video

The Body Is A Blade by Japanese Breakfast

Concrete by Shame

Motion Sickness by Phoebe Bridgers

5 out soon

Destroyer
ken
CD / LP
Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno
Finding Shore
CD / LP