Filed Under:Johnny Brendas

ALBUM RELEASE // Bear In Heaven ‘Time Is Over One Day Old’ Out Now Worldwide, On Tour Starting August 20th In Philly




Following up 2012′s LP I Love You, It’s Cool, Bear In Heaven is back with a new album Time Is Over One Day Old out now on Dead Oceans / Hometapes. The dense and beautifully layered album brings back Jon Philpot‘s smooth vocals and evocative synth, Adam Wills delectably groovy bass lines, and new drummer Jason Nazary to provide the percussion structure to the whole complex affair. The band is looking to tear your ears a new consciousness so you can preview the album by watching the gorgeous night time snapshot of NYC in their “Time Between” video above plus “Autumn” on Soundcloud.

Get the new album now via SC Distribution, Amazon, iTunes, your local record store.

Critics praise the new album:

“Bear In Heaven have gone back to what they do best”

- The 405

“‘Time Is Over One Day Old’ uses a less is more approach, the understated subtlety of which results in their best album to date”

- The Line Of Best Fit

“This is a record that nurtures and works around feeling, clawing its hooks deep wherever you lay most vulnerable. Sensual is most definitely the word.”

- Drowned in Sound

In support of Time Is Over One Day Old, Bear in Heaven will tour the U.S. this month starting in Philadelphia and Europe this fall. A full list of dates is below.


TOUR DATES:
[Tickets: deadoceans.com/tour]

Wed. Aug. 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. Aug. 21 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. Aug. 22 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel
Sat. Aug. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sun. Aug. 24 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Tue. Aug. 26 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
Wed. Aug. 27 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues (Bronze Peacock)
Thu. Aug. 28 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Tue. Sept. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex
Wed. Sept. 3 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Sept. 5 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Sat. Sept. 6 – Spokane, WA @ Bartfest
Sun. Sept. 7 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Wed. Sept. 10 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Thu. Sept. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri. Sept. 12 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Sat. Sept. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Sun. Sept. 14 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa
Tue. Sept. 16 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Wed. Sept. 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. Oct. 2 – London, UK @ XOYO
Fri. Oct. 3 – Brussels, BE @ Beursschouwburg
Sat. Oct. 4 – Paris, FR @ Espace B
Sun. Oct. 5 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. Oct. 6 – Cologne, DE @ STUDIO 672
Tue. Oct. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine Am Berghain
Thu. Oct. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar
Fri. Oct. 10 – Lund, SE @ Mejeriet
Sat. Oct. 11 – Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Sun. Oct. 12 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Oct. 13 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Tue. Oct. 14 – Bergen, NO @ Landmark
Thu. Oct. 16 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar
Fri. Oct. 17 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus

Back In Action // Bear In Heaven Share Fader Mixtape, Kick Off Tour Wednesday at Johnny Brenda’s

Bear In Heaven are back in action. They head out on tour tomorrow night, playing Philadelphia’s Johnny Brenda’s. To celebrate, Adam and Jon have put together a Fader mixtape complete with the unreleased Bear In Heaven track, “Greece Sun.” Stream and download the mixtape below and tracklist HERE.

The forthcoming tour includes a stop at Asheville’s Moogfest and The National’s All Tomorrow’s Parties. ERAAS joins for support. See all the tour dates at the end of the post.

“This mixtape is the sound of us deciding whether we should start filling the hole or just dive in. It might be fun, we might not hit bottom. We might fly to the other side of this strange dimension. Will you let us do it? Will you join us?”Jon Philpot

Tour Dates:
10.24 – Johnny Brenda’s – Philadelphia, PA * !
10.25 – College of William And Mary – Williamsburg, VA *
10.26 – Moogfest – Asheville, NC #
10.27 – MOTR Pub – Cincinnati, OH *
10.28 – Brillobox – Pittsburgh, PA *
10.29 – Black Cat Backstage – Washington, DC *
12.05 – Music Hall of Williamsburg – New York, NY * $
12.07-12.09 – All Tomorrow’s Parties – Camber Sands Holiday Camp, UK

* with ERAAS
! with Pink Skull
# with Miike Snow, Squarepusher, Explosions In The Sky
$ with Small Black

Sun Airway Live Video Month!

Sun Airway’s “Infinity” Live from klipcollective on Vimeo.

Each Monday this month, Sun Airway will upload a new live video filmed at Johnny Brenda’s by Klip Collective. The first is “Infinity.” It’s a great way to see the beautiful projections made for the songs. Watch and embed!

free downloads

Another by Greylag
Yours To Shake by Greylag
Time Between by Bear in Heaven
Start Again by Bishop Allen
Goshen '97 by Strand of Oaks
Shut In by Strand of Oaks
Dograces by Dub Thompson
Ring the Bell by White Hinterland
The Instinct by Mark McGuire

video

Another by Greylag

Autumn by Bear in Heaven

Why I Had To Go by Bishop Allen

5 out soon

Mark McGuire
Noctilucence
12"

todays shows

Dub Thompson
Santa Cruz, CA - Rio Theatre  w/ Foxygen

Strand of Oaks
Cologne, DE - Blue Shell

White Hinterland
San Diego, CA - Casbah  w/ Wildcat! Wildcat!

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed