Filed Under:Kevin Morby

Kevin Morby Shares “Beautiful Strangers” / “No Place To Fall”


kevin-morby

Kevin Morby is releasing new single “Beautiful Strangers” (b/w Townes Van Zandt cover “No Place To Fall”) in memory of the victims of Orlando and to support the work of Everytown for Gun Safety. “Beautiful Strangers” is available via all digital service providers, including Bandcamp, where it’s available for the standard fee or more if one feels inclined to further support the work of Everytown. Read Morby’s statement below and visit Bandcamp for an exclusive conversation about the song.

Listen to “Beautiful Strangers” / “No Place To Fall”:
https://kevinmorby.bandcamp.com/album/beautiful-strangers-b-w-no-place-to-fall

This release is dedicated to and written for all the people I have never met but have only read about. The innocent people who were out living their lives and one day, without warning, had them taken away from them. People who liked to laugh, dance, and love in the way that we all do, but cant anymore. All those names and faces, all those beautiful strangers…

So here are two songs, “Beautiful Strangers” as well as my cover of Townes Van Zandt’s “No Place To Fall” that I have been closing my live show with over the past year. Any purchase of these two songs will go to support the work of Everytown For Gun Safety – an organization I have followed for quite some time. I believe in and support them in their efforts to make the world a safer place. So if you wish – you can donate as little or large as you’d like and I do hope you enjoy the songs. Do it for the kids.

Love and peace,
Kevin Morby

Jason Rzepka, Director of Cultural Engagement at Everytown for Gun Safety, added:

Kevin has penned a beautiful tribute to the victims of America’s ugly gun violence crisis — an emergency that claims 91 of our fellow citizens every day. We’re deeply grateful for his talents, thoughtfulness and efforts to rally more people to support the life saving work of gun violence prevention.

About Everytown for Gun Safety
Everytown is the largest gun violence prevention organization in the country with more than three million supporters and more than 125,000 donors including moms, mayors, survivors and everyday Americans who are fighting for public safety measures that respect the Second Amendment and help save lives. At the core of Everytown are Mayors Against Illegal Guns, Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America and the Everytown Survivor Network. Learn more at www.everytown.org and follow them at @Everytown.

Kevin Morby Shares New Non-Album Track, “Tiny Fires”

821cdae6-f5c5-4bfe-a183-abec4bdb9baa

Today, Kevin Morby is sharing the song “Tiny Fires,” a non-album track that comes from the same time period as his recent critically acclaimed album Singing Saw . “Tiny Fires” was recorded and mixed by Drew Fischer in Los Angeles shortly after the completion of Singing Saw. What’s special about this live band recording is that it features members of Kevin’s current live band – including Meg Duffy on slide guitar and bass, and Justin Sullivan on drums – which the album does not, so not only is it representative of Kevin’s current live show, it’s a highlight. (Catch Morby live in one of the below cities!)

Since “Tiny Fires” was also written right after the completion of Singing Saw, so, as Morby says, “it is from that same brain.” Released as a digital 7″, “Tiny Fires” is b/w a solo acoustic demo version of the song, which was written and recorded in Kevin’s bedroom in Mt. Washington, Los Angeles.


KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES
Tue. Sept. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at the Ace Hotel w/ Wilco
Tue. Nov. 8 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall
Wed. Nov. 9 – Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Fri. Nov. 11 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Sat. Nov. 12 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Mon. Nov. 14 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. Nov. 15 – Dudingen, SW @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Nov. 16 – Feyzin, FR @ L’Epicerie Moderne
Thu. Nov. 17 – Angers, FR @ Chabada
Sat. Nov. 19 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbey
Sun. Nov. 20 – La Rochelle, FR @ La Sirene
Mon. Nov. 21 – Nimes, FR @ Paloma
Tue. Nov. 22 – Barcelona, ES @ Sala Apolo

PRAISE FOR KEVIN MORBY & SINGING SAW

“Kevin Morby speaks the language of records… His music comes from another place, one where you try and piece together meaning by tapping into a kind of collective unconscious, using whatever tools you have at your disposal.” – Pitchfork [Best New Music]

“Morby has a certain kind of light about him that touches even his darkest despair” – NPR Music

“The indie rocker punctuates the timely politics of his lyrical message—a manifesto about modern police brutality and racism that references a Martin Luther King Jr. quote—with fiery guitars and a huge choir.” – Entertainment Weekly on “I Have Been to the Mountain” [Best Songs of 2016]

“The former Woods bassist and Babies frontman reaches a new high on his beautifully arranged third solo effort, which merges Dylan-esque folk rock with a distinctly modern sensibility.” – Consequence of Sound

“Singing Saw is a force of a listen, and the most complete body of work of his career to date.” – Noisey

PURCHASE SINGING SAW
Dead Oceans: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_ss
iTunes: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_itunes
Amazon: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_amz
Support your local independent record store: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_indie

RELEASE DAY // Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’ Out Worldwide Today

DOC111-1

Singing Saw is a breakthrough for just how fully formed it is, a beautifully structured and produced record that is nothing short of a triumph.” – NPR Music’s Songs We Love

“Kevin Morby’s superb third album is the sound of a man gently losing his mind to music and not caring that much at all.” – UNCUT, 9/10

Singing Saw is his strongest album because it shows a process of refinement, and because Morby’s songwriting has become less referential and more grounded. The basic ingredients haven’t changed, but Morby is figuring out how to retain and amplify his strongest points—his weary and wise voice, his understanding of how the musical pieces fit together—and leave everything else behind” – Pitchfork, Best New Music

Kevin Morby has long been an artist whose work we admire. So needless to say, we’re elated that today marks the release of his stunning Dead Oceans debut, Singing Saw. These songs were crafted on a left-behind upright piano at Morby’s new-found home in the hills of Los Angeles. Listening along you can practically feel the winding side streets of his neighborhood, see the skyline’s sweeping lights, and hear the wind rustle the dried out underbrush of the LA flora.

This is Morby’s most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism. Singing Saw is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Stream Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’, Out 4/15

kevinmorby-082-Edit

Today, Kevin Morby is streaming his incredible new record, Singing Saw, in full. That’s right! You can hear the whole thing right now thanks to a variety of radio partners throughout the US and Canada. We’re so excited to have CBC, KCRW from Los Angeles, KTBG from Kansas City (Kevin’s hometown), KCMP of Minneapolis, WXPN of Philadelphia on board to support Kevin’s stunning Dead Oceans debut.

STREAM SINGING SAW:
CBC – http://bit.ly/1N98ATA
KCRW – http://kcrw.co/1MVvsee
KTBG – http://bit.ly/1Nb5bn9
KCMP – http://www.thecurrent.org/
WXPN (starts @ 3PM EST) – http://www.xpn.org/
RADIO MILWAUKEE (starts @ 2PM EST) – http://radiomilwaukee.org

Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Kevin Morby Plays Un Soirée De Poche For La Blogotheque, Including New Songs

Kevin Morby‘s new record, Singing Saw, will be released April 15th, and you can watch now as he plays several new songs from the record, the title tune from 2013’s Harlem River, and a Bob Dylan cover for a rapt audience on a Paris porch for La Blogotheque.

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

video

Wes Anderson by Alex Lahey

Rest Of It by Strand of Oaks

Star Roving by Slowdive

Radio Kids by Strand of Oaks

5 out soon

Bleached
Can You Deal?
12" / Digital