Filed Under:La Blogotheque

WATCH // Kevin Morby Plays Un Soirée De Poche For La Blogotheque, Including New Songs

Kevin Morby‘s new record, Singing Saw, will be released April 15th, and you can watch now as he plays several new songs from the record, the title tune from 2013’s Harlem River, and a Bob Dylan cover for a rapt audience on a Paris porch for La Blogotheque.

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

WATCH // Ryley Walker Shares La Blogothéque Sessions, European Tour Starts Next Week

Ryley Walker recently taped a house show with La Blogothéque, performing riveting solo versions of “Primrose Green,” “Summer Dress,” and Van Morrison‘s “Fair Play” with characteristic aplomb and skillful improvisation. See the videos on YouTube here.

WATCH // Julianna Barwick Trick-or-Treats With La Blogothéque, Performs At Pitchfork Festival Paris Tonight

We are excited to release Julianna Barwick‘s second of two La Blogotheque Takeaway sessions. For this second session, we see Julianna in downtown Reykjavik with her loop machine on Ash Day, an almost equivalent to Halloween in the United States. She offers not only candy but the microphone to children trick-or-treating, their voices falling in with Julianna’s adding to the gorgeous echoes in her performance improvised on the street. Watch the video above or here on Youtube.

Click read more to see the director, Derrick Belcham, speak on the session plus links to headlining tour dates in the US starting in November.
Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Julianna Barwick Releases First Of Two Takeaway Sessions For La Blogotheque, On Tour Now With Sigur Ros

We are excited to now release Julianna Barwick‘s first of two La Blogotheque Takeaway sessions. For this first session recorded at Þingvellir National Park in Iceland and filmed by Derrick Belcham, Julianna performs “The Harbinger” off her new album, Nepenthe. Watch the serene visual that accompanies Julianna’s already effortlessly beautiful performance HERE on La Blogotheque‘s site or ABOVE.

Read more to read Julianna speak on the video, links to buy her new album Nepenthe, and links to tour dates with Sigur Ros.
Read the rest of this entry »

Phosphorescent- New Takeaway Show for One Day Without Shoes

Earlier this year, TOM’s Shoes and La Blogotheque caught up with Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck for an improptu performance for their Barefoot Sessions for One Day Without Shoes. One Day Without Shoes is an “annual culmination of TOM’s efforts to raise awareness of the impact a pair of shoes can have on a child’s life.” They ask folks to go a day without wearing shoes, and last year more than 250,000 people went without shoes and over 1,600 events took place. You can find out more about the One Day Without Shoes project HERE. Above you can catch Phosphorescent’s performance of “My Dove, My Lamb” and go HERE to see another performance by Phosphorescent and other artists including Alex Winston, Gilbere Forte, and Ian Axel.

Phosphorescent is currently touring in the South and East this next week, and they’ll be performing at Bonnaroo in June. You can check out full tour dates HERE.

free downloads

The Halfwit In Me by Ryley Walker
Dhoodan by Ryley Walker
I Have Been To The Mountain by Kevin Morby
Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
Dark Child by Marlon Williams
Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
Dream Lover by Destroyer
Times Square by Destroyer

video

Jane Cum by Japanese Breakfast

Happy by Mitski

Same by Julianna Barwick

5 out soon

Ryley Walker
Golden Sings That Have Been Sung
CD / LP
Japanese Breakfast
Psychopomp
CD / LP

todays shows

Destroyer
Oslo, NO - Picnic i Parken

Japanese Breakfast
Durham, NC - The Pinhook  w/ Mitski and Jay Som

Kevin Morby
Nashville, TN - 3rd & Lindsley

Mitski
Durham, NC - The Pinhook

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed