Filed Under:lollapalooza

TOUR ANNOUNCE // The Tallest Man On Earth Extends Summer Tour, Records WFUV Performance Session At Electric Lady Studios

“You play directly to one person,” he laughs. “Because at most shows there’s a couple there – one who’s a really big fan and one who’s been dragged along and is bored. So I focus on the one that’s bored and try to make them smile or laugh. I look at them for a while. Then I don’t look at them. Then I know there’s a part coming up where I can make eye contact. It’s inspiring to try to connect to people in a different way to how we do normally.”
The Guardian

After playing sold out shows at both Music Hall of Williamsburg and The Beacon Theater in New York, The Tallest Man On Earth (aka Sweden’s Kristian Matsson) recorded an intimate set at the legendary Electric Lady Studios in lower Manhattan for WFUV. The group performed several songs including “Sagres” off of Dark Bird Is Home and “Like The Wheel” from Sometimes The Blues Is Just A Passing Bird, plus a special first-time performance of “If I Could Only Fly,” a song originally written by Blaze Foley and made famous by Merle Haggard. Coming off of television appearances on Conan and CBS This Morning: Saturday, The Tallest Man’s WFUV performance is yet another captivating moment on a tour that will span the country.

The Tallest Man On Earth Dark Bird Is Home is out now on Dead Oceans. The next North American run includes performances at Forecastle, Eaux Claires Festival, Newport Folk Festival, Lollapalooza, and MusicfestNW. All tour dates are below.

Purchase Dark Bird Is Home via Secretly Distribution, iTunes, Amazon, or
your local indie store

(new dates in bold)
[all dates + tix links:]
Wed. June 24 – Antwerp, BE @ Openlucht Theater – SOLD OUT
Thu. June 25 – Paris, FR @ Divan Du Monde – SOLD OUT
Sun. June 28 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon – SOLD OUT
Mon. June 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon – SOLD OUT
Tue. June 30 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller – SOLD OUT
Thu. July 2 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik – SOLD OUT
Sat. June 27–Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri. July 17-Sun. July19 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle
Fri. July 17 – Sat. July 18 – Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Mon. July 20 – Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre #
Wed. July 22 – Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall @ Babeville #
Fri. July 24 – Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sat. July 25 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Sun. July 26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Carnegie Music Hall
Wed. July 29 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Thu. July 30 – Kansas City, MO @ Midland Theater
Fri. July 31 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Pabst Theater
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza – SOLD OUT
Fri. Aug. 21 — Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Sat. Aug. 22 — Vancouver, BC @ Orpheum Theatre
Sun. Aug. 23 — Portland, OR @ MusicfestNW
Tue. Aug. 25 — Park City, UT @ Park City Live
Wed. Aug. 26 — Denver, CO @ Ogden Theater
Fri. Aug. 28 — Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theatre
Sat. Aug. 29 — Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sun. Aug. 30 — Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Thu. Sep. 3 — Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Fri. Sep. 4 — Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Sat. Sep. 5 — Holland, MI @ Hope College – Knickerbocker Theatre
Mon. Sep. 7 — Columbia, MO @ The Blue Note
Tue. Sep. 9 — Wichita, KS @ Orpheum Theatre
Wed. Sep. 10 — Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom
Fri. Sep. 11 — Dallas, TX @ House of Blues Dallas
Sat. Sep. 12 — Houston, TX @ House of Blues Houston
Sun. Sep. 13 — Austin, TX @ ACL Live at The Moody

Sat. Oct. 3 – Oslo, NO @ Opera House ^
Sun. Oct. 4 – Göteborg, SE @ Konserthuset ^
Mon. Oct. 5 – Stockholm, SE @ Cirkus ^
Tue. Oct. 6 – Umea, SE @ Idun ^
Thu. Oct. 8 – Linköping, SE @ Crusell ^
Fri. Oct. 9 – Falun, SE @ Magasinet ^
Sat. Oct. 10 – Arhus, DK @ Voxhall ^
Mon. Oct. 12 – Cologne, DK @ E-Werk ^
Tue. Oct 13 – Berlin, DE @ Huxley’s ^
Wed. Oct. 14 – Vienna, AT @ Arena ^
Thu. Oct. 15 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz ^
Fri. Oct. 16 – Zürich, CH @ Volkshaus ^
Sat. Oct. 17 – Paris, FR @ La Cigal ^
Mon. Oct. 19 – London, UK @ Roundhouse ^
Tue. Oct. 20 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 ABC ^
Wed. Oct. 21 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street ^
Fri. Oct. 23 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall ^
Sat. Oct. 24 – Bexhill, UK @ De La Warr ^
Sun. Oct. 25 – Brussels, BE @ AB ^
Tue. Oct. 27 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega ^

# with Hiss Golden Messenger
^ with Phil Cook

WATCH // Strand of Oaks Shares Summer Tour Dates, Watch Session At Ace Hotel in New York City

Strand of Oaks : 5 at 5 : Ace Hotel New York from Ace Hotel on Vimeo.

Strand of Oaks wants to spend time with you this summer. Every one of you. Starting this month the band will make their way across the country in continued support of last year’s highly-acclaimed, HEAL. Strand of Oaks’ already exhilirating live show will add decibels in the form of a guitar helmed by eastcoaster (and new band member) Carter Tanton. The band’s spring tour resumes in Chattanooga, TN on April 16 with a handful of dates in support of Jason Isbell. Notable festival stops on their route include Middle of the Map, Hangout, Sasquatch, Governors Ball, Bonnaroo, Lollapallooza, Osheaga, and Outside Lands – so almost all of ’em. Strand of Oaks will also play support to Alabama Shakes and Ryan Adams.

Since we last spoke, frontman Tim Showalter coaxed some truth from Father John Misty’s I Love You, Honeybear for The Talkhouse and paid a visit to NYC’s Ace Hotel for their 5 at 5 series. Catch a glimpse of his inner Viking on the road, full list of dates below.

[all dates + tix links:]

Thurs. April 16 – Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29 #
Fri. April 17 – Charlotte, NC @ US National Whitewater Center #
Sat. April 18 – Columbia, SC @ Music Farm Columbia #
Mon. April 20 – Athens, GA @ Caledonia Lounge
Tues. April 21 – Lexington, KY @ Green Lantern Bar
Wed. April 22 – Columbia, MO @ Rose Music Hall
Thus. April 23 – Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater, Middle of the Map Fest
Tues. May 12 – Wilmington, DE @ The Grand Opera House &
Fri. May 15 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival
Fri. May 22 – Mon. May 25 – George, WA @ Sasquatch Music Festival
Wed. May 27 – London, UK @ The Garage
Fri. May 29 – Sat. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Mon. June 1 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen
Wed. June 3 – Marina Di Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew
Thurs. June 5 – Athens, GR @ Plissken Festival
Sun. June 7 – New York, NY @ Governors Ball
Tues. June 9 – Charlottesville, VA @ nTelos Wireless Pavilion
Thurs. June 11 – Sun. June 14 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Sat. June 13 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sun. June 14 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter
Fri. June 19 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Sat. July 25 – Buffalo, NY @ Tralf Music Hall
Mon. July 27 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tues. July 28 – Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza (SOLD OUT)
Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2 – Montreal, QC @ Osheaga Festival
Fri. Aug. 7 – Sun. Aug. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands Music & Arts (SOLD OUT)
Thurs. Aug. 20 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop

# = w/ Jason Isbell
& = w/ Ryan Adams
= w/ Alabama Shakes

WATCH // The Tallest Man On Earth Performs “Revelation Blues” for Pitchforktv

Pitchforktv and bring you a new video of The Tallest Man On Earth performing a wonderful, acoustic version of “Revelation Blues.” Director Dan Huiting filmed the video on a Chicago rooftop for the City of Music series in early August, following Kristian’s show at Lollapalooza. Watch above!

Catch The Tallest Man On Earth on tour! Full list of dates HERE.

Lollapalooza Here We Come! Catch Bear In Heaven, Bowerbirds and The Tallest Man On Earth Live

Are you ready? We sure hope so, for Lollapalooza fun starts bright and early tomorrow and there’s no time to waste! Three Dead Oceans bands will perform at the festival throughout the weekend. Bear In Heaven perform on the Sony stage Saturday at 1:30PM, while The Tallest Man On Earth will take PlayStation stage at 5:15 PM the same day. Finally, Bowerbirds take the Sony stage on Sunday at 12:00 PM.

We’ve also got two artists from our sister-labels performing. Jagjaguwar’s Sharon Van Etten and Secretly Canadian’s The War On Drugs play back-to-back on Friday. TWOD kick off the Google Play stage at 2:15 PM and Sharon will start on the PlayStation stage at 3:00 PM.

Dead Oceans, Jagjaguwar & Secretly Canadian have a team en route to Lollapalooza now. You can follow our festival experience via Instagram (@deadoceans), Twitter and Facebook. Look out for the hashtag: #doclolla as we’ll use it to tag our tweets and photos! Hope to see you there!

Check out our newest Spotify playlist – LOLLAPALOOZA READY 2012. It features songs from Dead Oceans, Jagjaguwar and Secretly Canadian artists playing at the festival and also artists we are just stoked to see! Listen on the Spotify app or below! NOTE** It is a collaborative playlist, meaning you can add songs! We encourage everyone to join in and add what they’re excited to see/hear this weekend!

Bowerbirds Announce New Fall Tour Dates

Bowerbirds announce new fall tour dates! Beth, Phil and the rest of the gang head to the West Coast this upcoming October. You can see all of those shows at the end of the post. Next weekend, they’ll play Pickathon and Lollapolooza, with performances at Oya, Green Man, Noorderzon, Pukkelpop, Haldern Pop and Way Out West festivals to follow.

Watch Bowerbirds perform “Stitch The Hem” for Live at Braund Sound.

New Fall Tour Dates:
10/16/12 Santa Barbara, CA- SOhO Restaurant and Music Club
10/17/12 Los Angeles, CA- El Rey Theatre
10/19/12 San Diego, CA- Casbah
10/20/12 Phoenix, AZ- Crescent Ballroom
10/21/12 Tucson, AZ- Club Congress
10/23/12 Denver, CO- Larimer Lounge
10/24/12 Salt Lake City, UT- Kilby Court
10/26/12 Boise, ID- Neurolux
10/27/12 Portland, OR- Doug Fir Lounge
10/28/12 Seattle, WA- Neumos
10/29/12 Vancouver, BC- The Biltmore Cabaret
11/01/12 San Francisco, CA- Great American Music Hall

free downloads

Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
Dream Lover by Destroyer
Times Square by Destroyer
Moonshiner by Kevin Morby
Me Liquor and God by Night Beds
Corner by Night Beds
Sagres by The Tallest Man on Earth
Dark Bird Is Home by The Tallest Man on Earth
War Machine by Bill Fay
A Page Incomplete by Bill Fay


Earth: 2015 by Mark McGuire

Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams

Darkness of the Dream by The Tallest Man on Earth

Times Square by Destroyer

5 out soon

Marlon Williams
Marlon Williams

todays shows

There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed