Watch Mitski’s New “Washing Machine Heart” Video

Posted on 11/09/2018

In the midst of a completely sold out North American tour in support of Be the Cowboy, Mitski shares a gorgeous video for “Washing Machine Heart,” created with previous collaborators —director Zia Anger (“Your Best American Girl” and “Geyser”) and cinematographer Mia Cioffi Henry (“Geyser”) — and premiered last week via TIDAL. The video takes stylistic cues from older noir films, reflecting the longingful lyrics and pleading desire of the song. Choreographed by Monica Mirabel, who also choreographed the Be the Cowboy tour, Mitski exerts a powerful confidence that aptly describes the way she captures emotion — frankly, beautifully, and willingly.

Mitski continues on her entirely sold out North American tour in support of Be the Cowboy, released this past August on Dead Oceans. Her 2018 run concludes with four sold out shows at Brooklyn Steel.

“If you, like us, have been living in a Mitski-obsessed hole since Be The Cowboy debuted this summer, her latest visual for ‘Washing Machine Heart’ will send you spiraling all over again.” — The FADER

“The irresistibly twee ‘Washing Machine Heart,’ propelled by the percussion of clapping hands and froggy keyboards, is admirably bubblegum.” — Jezebel

“She plays with meter on ‘Washing Machine Heart,’ where verse and refrain bleed into each other and the rhythm of her vocals doesn’t quite match the beat of the song. It is at once disorienting and mesmerizing, an effect enhanced by a serene tone of voice at odds with the tumult of her lyrics.” — Paste

“[The ‘Washing Machine Heart’ video] is a haunting accompaniment to Mitski’s lilting run-on vocals, punctuated by catchy, bleepy synths in one of the stunning album’s most infectious earworms.”
— Consequence of Sound

Stream/Purchase Be the Cowboy

Mitski Tour Dates:
Thu. Nov. 8 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom & – SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 10 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s Austin & – SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 11 – Dallas, TX @ Trees & – SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 13 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East & – SOLD OUT
Wed. Nov. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade & – SOLD OUT
Fri. Nov. 16 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club & – SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 17 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club & – SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer & – SOLD OUT
Fri. Nov. 30 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ – SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ – SOLD OUT
Sun. Dec. 2 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ – SOLD OUT
Mon. Dec. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ – SOLD OUT
Wed. Dec. 5 – New York, NY @ Town Hall – The Alley Coalition Talent Show *
Mon. Jan. 28 – Auckland, NZ @ Laneway Festival
Sat. Feb. 2 – Brisbane, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sun. Feb. 3 – Sydney, AU @ Laneway Festival
Mon. Feb. 4 – Sydney, NSW @ Oxford Art Factory
Thu. Feb. 7 – Melbourne, VIC @ The Corner Hotel
Sat. Feb. 9 – Melbourne, AU @ Laneway Festival

& = w/ Overcoats
^ = w/ Downtown Boys and SASAMI
* show supports TAC’s work with marginalized and at-risk LGBTQ youth

More News