WATCH // Kevin Morby Shares Trailer For ‘Singing Saw,’ Out April 15th

 
On April 15th, Kevin Morby will release his third record, and first for Dead Oceans, Singing Saw. It is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.

 

In the autumn of 2014, Kevin Morby moved to the small, hilly Los Angeles neighborhood of Mount Washington. The move would shape Singing Saw. Previous tenants at Morby’s new home happened to leave an upright piano behind, with a few mysterious pieces of sheet music and an introductory book of common chords stacked on top. Thankful to finally be in one place for an extended spell, Morby, a beginner at the piano, immediately sat at the new instrument and began composing the songs that would form Singing Saw.

 

Alongside, he began taking long walks through the winding hills and side streets of the neighborhood each night, glimpsing views of both the skyline’s sweeping lights and the dark, dried out underbrush of the LA flora. The duality of the city itself began to shape a set of lyrical ideas that he would refine with the sparse accompaniment of piano and acoustic guitar.

 

The arrangements of Singing Saw trace back to Morby’s experience playing in The Complete Last Waltz, a live recreation of The Band’s legendary last performance. There, Morby developed a fast friendship with producer/bandleader Sam Cohen (Apollo Sunshine, Yellowbirds), which led Morby to forgo recording in Los Angeles and take the nascent songs of Singing Saw to Isokon Studios in Woodstock, New York. There, in a converted A-frame house, they set about creating a record that would bring a sonic balance, intricacy and depth to match these songs and all that inspired them. Morby and Cohen (who added guitar, bass, drums and keyboard) were joined by fellow Complete Last Waltz alum Marco Benevento on piano and keyboard. Backup vocalists Hannah Cohen, Lauren Balthrop and Alecia Chakor contributed soaring harmonies; Nick Kinsey (Elvis Perkins) added drums and percussion; Justin Sullivan, a longtime Morby collaborator and staple of his live band, contributed drums; Oliver Hill and Eliza Bag lifted numerous songs with string accompaniments, and Alec Spiegelman on saxophone and flute and Cole Kamen-Green on trumpet brought dramatic swells. Finally, John Andrews (Quilt) added the eerie lilt of the album’s promise, providing saw on the “Cut Me Down” and “Singing Saw”.

 

In the end, Morby fulfills the promise many heard on his first two albums, bringing his most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism to fruition. The songs of Singing Saw reflect the clarity that comes from welcoming change and embracing duality, and the distillation of those elements into an entirely new vision.

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon// Support your local independent record store

SINGING SAW TRACKLISTING
Cut Me down
I Have Been To The Mountain
Singing Saw
Drunk And On A Star
Dorothy
Ferris Wheel
Destroyer
Black Flowers
Water

 

EU TOUR DATES:
(more info and tix here)

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney
Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210
Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse
Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet
Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ RadarSar. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

WATCH // Bleached Share Video For “Keep On Keepin’ On,” Album Release Date For ‘Welcome The Worms’

 
April 1st sees the release of Welcome The Worms, the ambitious new rock album by Los Angeles-based Bleached. While keeping the band’s origin of cheeky, California-punk in the forefront, Welcome The Worms is a smarter, heavier, emotionally deeper Bleached.

Sisters Jennifer (vocals, guitar) and Jessie Clavin (guitar, bass) knew things were going to be different for their sophomore album – not only had they managed to charm world-renowned producer and engineer Joe Chiccarelli (Morrissey, The Strokes, Elton John) and co-producer Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, YACHT) to join them and their bassist Micayla Grace in the studio, but Jen and Jessie had been crawling out of their own personal dramas. Jessie was evicted from her house and scrambling, while Jen ended a torrid, unhealthy romance. While emotionally spinning, she dove head first into music.

“I was a loose canon,” the commanding front woman says. “I was losing serious control of my personal and creative life. I was falling apart, trying to escape. I felt like Bleached was the only thing I actually cared about.”

Throughout the record, Bleached paints a frivolous picture of Los Angeles: the life of eye­-rolling caused by dating men in bands, dirty Sunset Boulevard and futile drunken nights in a starstruck hole that made everyone from Charles Manson to Darby Crash to Marilyn Monroe stare up at the Hollywood sign for direction. Although a typical theme of ruined romance floats through the album, the real power is in Jen figuring out herself through lyrics so straight, identifiable and honest, a first for the girl who safely hid behind a cheeky misdemeanor.

“We don’t want perfection because it’s boring,” Jen declares. “We want to make music that’s as real as life.”

Watch the Lana Kim-directed video for debut single, “Keep On Keepin’ On,” which presents the essence of Welcome The Worms and Bleached’s newfound pop refinement. As described by The FADER, it’s “a sneering soundtrack to a souring relationship and a gentle reminder to keep on keepin’ on regardless.”

Bleached’s Welcome The Worms is available for pre-order now through Dead Oceans. It includes limited edition black/cream split colored vinyl, an original Bleached coloring book and Bleached patch. Bleached will tour as a four-piece all over North America this spring.

 

Pre-Order Welcome The Worms now:
via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon // Support Your Local Indie Record Store

Welcome The Worms Tracklisting:
01. Keep On Keepin’ On
02. Trying To Lose Myself Again
03. Sleepwalking
04. Wednesday Night Melody
05. Wasted On You
06. Chemical Air
07. Sour Candy
08. Desolate Town
09. I’m All Over The Place (Mystic Mama)
10. Hollywood, We Did It All Wrong

Bleached Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Tue. Mar. 15 – Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Tue. Mar. 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
Wed. Mar. 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Mon. Apr. 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder
Tue. Apr. 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s
Wed. Apr. 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Fri. Apr. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
Sat. Apr. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn
Mon. Apr. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Apr. 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. Apr. 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Sat. Apr. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB
Sun. Apr. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison
Wed. Apr. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
Thu. Apr. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch
Fri. Apr. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Mon. Apr. 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Tue. Apr. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Thu. Apr. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Fri. Apr. 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. Apr. 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers
Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios
Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis

WATCH // Marlon Williams To Release Self Titled Debut LP February 19th, Shares Video For “Dark Child”

Marlon Williams broke out in stride with his incredible voice and masterful stage presence in Australia and New Zealand last year surrounding the release of his debut, self-titled album. He topped off the year winning Best Male Solo Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year at the New Zealand Music Awards, where he performed new single, “Dark Child,” attended the ARIA Awards in Australia, where he was nominated for Best Blues & Roots Album, and made his morning television debut performing “Hello Miss Lonesome” on “ABC Breakfast TV” in Australia.

It’s now time for Williams to make his mark on North America and the rest of the world. His debut album will see its release outside of NZ/Australia on Feb. 19 via Dead Oceans. But before that day’s arrival, Williams kicks off the year presenting the twisted video for the aforementioned single “Dark Child” where director Damian Golfinopoulos deconstructs the idea of a shared tragedy as if it were a deranged game played out on a movie set by a procession of actors. And at the end of the month, Marlon Williams & The Yarra Benders’ debut headline tour in North America begins. The band will be a four piece: Marlon Williams (guitar/vocals), Gus Agars (drum/vocals), Ben Woolley (bass/vocals) and Dave Khan (electric guitar/mandolin/fiddle/vocals). All dates are below.

Pre Order Marlon Williams’ Self Title LP now:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

Marlon William Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Mon. Jan. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique
Thu. Jan. 21 – London, UK @ St. Pancras Old Church
Fri. Jan. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club – SOLD OUT
Sun. Jan. 31 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Mon. Feb. 1 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Feb. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar
Wed. Feb. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Fri. Feb. 5 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Sat. Feb. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Dakota Tavern
Mon. Feb. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Tue. Feb. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Wed. Feb. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Thu. Feb. 18 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sat. Feb. 20 – Nantes, FR @ Le Stereolux (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 21 – Mérignac, FR @ Krakatoa (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Mon. Feb. 22 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106 (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 28 – Perth, WA @ Perth International Arts Festival
Sat. March 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Zoo
Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation
Fri. March 11 – Sydney, AU @ Taronga Zoo
Sat. March 12 – Lonestar Valley, TAS @ A Festival Called Panama
Sun. March 13 – Mon. March 14 – Adelaide, SA @ Womadelaide
Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

NEW ARTIST // Dead Oceans Signs Mitski

Screen Shot 2015-12-21 at 4.15.02 PM

Since releasing Bury Me at Makeout Creek, Mitski has received international acclaim for her distinct, arresting sound and profoundly reflective lyrics. Pitchfork applauded the release as “inventive and resourceful,” while Rolling Stone celebrated her “deep-cutting lyrics.” NME said “it’s a record that doesn’t tug at your heart-strings as much as it mercilessly pounds at them, taking to your emotions like a lead pipe to a piñata.” She has also received widespread attention for her “cathartic” live shows as dubbed by The New York TimesJon Caramanica.

I was so young when I behaved 25,” Mitski sings on “First Love / Late Spring,”yet now I find I’ve grown into a tall child.” This veritable thesis speaks to sentiments of the poetry and beauty of struggling up the hill to adulthood. Mitski cathartically reveals snapshots from her adventures in youth, and the empowerment found in sharing these stories with others. In 2016, Mitski is poised to continue delivering her particular flavor of soul-baring rock on Dead Oceans.

Very excited to announce that Dead Oceans has added Mitski to the family. More news to come, but look for new music in 2016!

TOUR ANNOUNCE // Ryley Walker To Tour The UK With Legendary Bassist Danny Thompson

WalkerThompsonTour2016_Web

February 2016 will see two of contemporary folk’s finest artists, Ryley Walker and Danny Thompson, take to the road for eleven UK shows and what is sure to be an unmissable collaboration.

Ryley Walker has been compared to many of folk’s greats yet has a musical style all his own. Still only in his mid-20s, he’s well on his way to becoming a major artist as the rave reviews for his recent album, Primrose Green, attest. For this very special tour, Ryley will be joined onstage by legendary double-bassist Danny Thompson, one of the founding members of Pentangle, who has performed with the likes of Richard Thompson, Tim Buckley, Nick Drake, John Martyn and many more, helping to create the lyrical and jazz-flecked astral folk that so influenced Walker close to half a century later. As well as performing works from his two acclaimed albums, the shows will likely include some new Ryley Walker material. Expect a memorable night as these two immensely talented artists come together to create something exceptional.

Ryley Walker and Danny Thompson Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Wednesday 17th February – BRISTOL – St George’s
Thursday 18th February – OXFORD – The Bullingdon
Friday 19th February – BIRMINGHAM – The Rainbow
Saturday 20th February – LONDON – Bush Hall
Sunday 21st February – BARTON-UPON-HUMBER – Ropery Hall
Tuesday 23rd February – STOCKTON-ON-TEES – The Arc
Wednesday 24th February – CLITHEROE – The Grand
Thursday 25th February – LIVERPOOL – Music Room, Liverpool Philharmonic
Friday 26th February – LEEDS – Brudenell Social Club
Saturday 27th February – FARNDALE, NORTH YORKSHIRE – The Band Room
Sunday 28th February – MANCHESTER – Band On The Wall

free downloads

Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
Dark Child by Marlon Williams
Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
Dream Lover by Destroyer
Times Square by Destroyer
Moonshiner by Kevin Morby
Me Liquor and God by Night Beds
Corner by Night Beds
Sagres by The Tallest Man on Earth
Dark Bird Is Home by The Tallest Man on Earth
War Machine by Bill Fay
A Page Incomplete by Bill Fay

video

Dark Child by Marlon Williams

Earth: 2015 by Mark McGuire

Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams

Darkness of the Dream by The Tallest Man on Earth

5 out soon

Marlon Williams
Marlon Williams
CD / LP
Bleached
Welcome The Worms
CD / LP
Kevin Morby
Singing Saw
CD / LP

todays shows

Marlon Williams
New York, NY - Mercury Lounge

Ryley Walker
Zagreb, HR - Mocvara

The Tallest Man on Earth
Gijon, ES - Teatro Laboral

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed