Filed Under:Release

RELEASE DAY // Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’ Out Worldwide Today

DOC111-1

Singing Saw is a breakthrough for just how fully formed it is, a beautifully structured and produced record that is nothing short of a triumph.” – NPR Music’s Songs We Love

“Kevin Morby’s superb third album is the sound of a man gently losing his mind to music and not caring that much at all.” – UNCUT, 9/10

Singing Saw is his strongest album because it shows a process of refinement, and because Morby’s songwriting has become less referential and more grounded. The basic ingredients haven’t changed, but Morby is figuring out how to retain and amplify his strongest points—his weary and wise voice, his understanding of how the musical pieces fit together—and leave everything else behind” – Pitchfork, Best New Music

Kevin Morby has long been an artist whose work we admire. So needless to say, we’re elated that today marks the release of his stunning Dead Oceans debut, Singing Saw. These songs were crafted on a left-behind upright piano at Morby’s new-found home in the hills of Los Angeles. Listening along you can practically feel the winding side streets of his neighborhood, see the skyline’s sweeping lights, and hear the wind rustle the dried out underbrush of the LA flora.

This is Morby’s most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism. Singing Saw is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.

Read the rest of this entry »

NEW VIDEO // Kevin Morby Shares New Video For “Dorothy” And New Tour Dates

 
Today, Kevin Morby shares “Dorothy” the second single and video off his forthcoming album, Singing Saw (out 4/15 on Dead Oceans). The song, a self-reflection of Kevin’s life as a musician on the road, is named after his guitar, which is in turn named after his grandmother. “Being a musician, when you find yourself at home and off of tour, all the people, places and things you encountered on tour seem like some wild dream,” says Kevin. “Dorothy, my guitar, represents the people I’ve encountered and experiences I’ve had over the past 7 years of touring, because she has always been there with me.” The video for “Dorothy” is a beautiful representation of this sentiment. It follows a very mobile Morby as he traverses and passes by seemingly surreal situations, the fever dream that is the road for him and so many other musicians like him.

Also, Kevin has added some new dates to his tour. He was one of the best artists at SXSW last week, according to many, including Entertainment Weekly, who said “In a blistering Wednesday evening set at Mohawk’s House of Vans event, the former member of psych-folk outfit Woods and his backing band jammed with melodic intensity — many of those tunes from Morby’s upcoming album Singing Saw that called to mind Desire-era Bob Dylan.”

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

LISTEN // Bleached Present New Single, “Sour Candy,” And Making Of ‘Welcome The Worms’ Mini-Documentary

880fddfb-a9a2-4d78-8299-7fa5362affac-1

Los Angeles shredders BleachedJen Clavin (vocals, guitar), Jessie Clavin (guitar) and Micayla Grace (bass) – embrace the darker side of life with their ambitious new rock album, Welcome The Worms, out next month via Dead Oceans. Recorded at Sunset Sound with renowned producer and engineer Joe Chiccarelli and co-producer Carlos de la Garza, who helped the band perfect their fervent pop songs into fearlessly big pop melodies, Welcome The Worms presents a smarter, heavier, emotionally deeper Bleached while keeping the band’s origins of cheeky, California-punk in the forefront. Watch the band’s making of video below, and check out Welcome The Worms’ highlight “Sour Candy,” an effortless hit sure to stick in your head for days!

 

 

 

Bleached’s Welcome The Worms is out April 1st. The band kicks off their North American tour this Friday in Las Vegas at Neon Reverb Festival and then heads into a packed SXSW before taking their show all over the country. Also, beginning tomorrow, get your hands on some fresh Bleached Emojis via the Apple app store!   

 

Pre-order Welcome The Worms:

via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon

Support your local independent record store

Bleached Tour Dates:

Fri. March 11 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse (Neon Reverb Festival)

Mon. March 14 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda – The AV Club – 8pm

Wed. March 16 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas – She Shreds – 4:30pm

Thu. March 17 – Austin, TX @ Red Eyed Fly – Another Planet – 2:30pm

Thu. March 17 – Austin, TX @ Cedar St. Courtyard – FLOODfest – 9pm

Thu. March 17 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda – 12am

Fri. March 18 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s – SPIN – 1:30pm

Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk – Fun Fun Fun Fest SXSW – 12:30pm

Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ The Gatsby – Pandora – 4pm

Sun. March 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger/Burger Hangover Festival

Thu. March 24 – Fayetteville, AR @ On The Map Festival

Tue. March 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones *

Wed. March 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah*

Sat. April 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar*

Sun. April 3 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace *

Mon. April 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder*

Tue. April 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s *

Wed. April 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Link*

Fri. April 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt*

Sat. April 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn*

Mon. April 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

Wed. April 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9*

Thu. April 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas *

Fri. April 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott*

Sat. April 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB*

Sun. April 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison*

Mon. April 18 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place *

Wed. April 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness*

Thu. April 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch*

Fri. April 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle*

Sat. April 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry*

Mon. April 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge*

Tue. April 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court*

Thu. April 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret*

Fri. April 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza*

Sat. April 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir*

Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill*

Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room*

Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom*

Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers

Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club

Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios

Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis

Tue. May 24 – Lille, FR @ Aeronof

Wed. May 25 – Everux, FR @ Abordage

Thu. May 26 – Metz, FR @ BAM

Fri. May 27 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum

Sat. May 28 – Antwerp, BL @ Het Bos

Mon. May 30 – Zurich, SW @ Eldorado

Sat. July 16-Sun. July 17 – Kansas City, KS @ Children’s Mercy Park – KRBZ Buzz Beach Ball 2016

 

* with No Parents

RECORD STORE DAY // Ryley Walker Announces Release Of ‘Cannots’ With Charles Rumback

3hhs_doc115

On April 16th, Ryley Walker will release a Record Store Day full-length recorded with Charles Rumback titled, Cannots.

 

Fellow denizens of Chicago, IL, Rumback (drums, organ) and Walker (acoustic and electric guitar, piano, bells) laid down Cannots during two short sessions, a month apart, overseen by Brian J. Sulpizio. Each player’s schedule was too hectic ahead of these sessions to allow any time to discuss the direction of the record, so what you hear was wholly improvised on the spot. The results maybe recall the legendary jams of Sandy Bull and Billy Higgins, perhaps the soundtrack work of Ry Cooder, or Neil Young circa Dead Man…whatever you hear there is an undeniably magical chemistry at play.

Ryley Walker‘s already had a full year – and it’s not even March. His passport got stamped in Bosnia, Macedonia, Croatia (for the first time no less) on his Central & Eastern European tour. On his inaugural Australian tour, Walker opened for Joanna Newsom at the Sydney Opera House. While in Glasgow, Walker played two sold out Bert Jansch tribute shows alongside legends such as Robert Plant, Jacqui Mcshee, Archie Fisher, Graham Coxon and Ben Watt. Walker’s currently touring as a duo with Danny Thompson (Pentangle, Nick Drake, Talk Talk) and will open for Deer Tick once he returns stateside.

 

Cannots is available in limited edition, electric-blue vinyl, featuring cover art by Adam F Scott(adamscottstudio.com), and will be released by Dead Oceans on Record Store Day 2016. Full list of dates below.

   

RYLEY WALKER TOUR DATES

*new dates in bold* 

Thurs. Feb. 25 – Liverpool, UK @ Music Room, Liverpool Philharmonic &

Fri. Feb. 26 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club & 

Sat. Feb. 27 – Farndale, North Yorkshire, UK @ The Band Room &

Sun. Feb. 28 – Manchester, UK @ Band On The Wall &

Mon. Feb. 29 – London, UK @ Bush Hall &

Thurs. March 10 – Sat. March 12 – Chicago, IL @ Levitation Chicago – Thalia Hall

Sun. April 3 – Jackson, MS @ Duling Hall †

Tue. April 5 – St. Louis, MO @ The Duck Room @ Blueberry Hill †

Wed. April 6 – Iowa City, IA @ Mission Creek Music Fest – The Mill †

Thur. April 7 – Chicago, IL @ Old Town School of Folk Music †

Fri. April 8 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre †

Sat. April 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club †

Mon. April 11 – Boulder, CO @ Bluebird Theatre †

Tue. April 12 – Aspen, CO @ Belly Up †

Wed. April 13 – Santa Fe, NM @ MEOW Wolf †

Fri. April 29 – Belfast, IE @ Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival

Sat. April 30 – Sun. May 1 – Kilkenny, IE @ Kilkenny Roots Festival

Sun. May 2 – Dublin, IE @ Whelans

Sun. June 19 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret

Fri. June 24 – Sun. June 26 – Oslo, NO @ Piknik i Parken

Sat. Aug. 6 – Sun. Aug. 7 – London, UK @ Caught By The River Thames

Thur. Aug. 18 – Sat. Aug. 20 – Praia do Tabuao, PT @ Paredes de Coura

 

& = w/ Danny Thompson

† = w/ Deer Tick

RELEASE DAY // Marlon Williams’ Self Titled Debut Is Out Today, Worldwide

Marlon Williams broke out in stride with his incredible voice and masterful stage presence in Australia and New Zealand last year surrounding the release of his debut, self-titled album. He topped off the year winning Best Male Solo Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year at the New Zealand Music Awards, where he performed new single, “Dark Child,” attended the ARIA Awards in Australia, where he was nominated for Best Blues & Roots Album, and made his morning television debut performing“Hello Miss Lonesome” on “ABC Breakfast TV” in Australia.

Today, his self titled debut LP is out via Dead Oceans!

Order Marlon Williams’ Self Title LP now:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

Marlon William Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

02/28/16 Perth, AUPerth International Arts Festival
03/05/16 Parkville, AUSMelbourne Zoo
03/06/16 Castlemaine, AU – Theatre Royal
03/09/16 Auckland, NZPowerstation
03/11/16 Mosman, AUSTaronga Zoo
03/12/16 Lone Star Valley, AUSA Festival Called Panama
03/13/16 Adelaide, AUSWOMADelaide
03/14/16 Adelaide, AUSWOMADelaide
03/15/16 Austin, TXSXSW
04/05/16 Nottingham, UK – Bodega Social Club
04/06/16 Bristol, UK – The Louisiana
04/07/16 London, UK – St. Giles In The Fields
04/08/16 Brighton, UK – The Hope And Ruin
04/11/16 Berlin, DE – Privatclub
04/12/16 Hamburg, DE – Nochtspeicher
04/13/16 Cologne, DE – YUCA
04/14/16 Paris, FR – Le Pop Up Du Label
04/15/16 Bourges, FR – Le Printemps De Bourges
04/16/16 Brussels, BE – Ancienne Belgique
04/18/16 Dublin, IE – Whelans
04/19/16 Manchester, UK – The Night And Day Cafe
04/20/16 Glasgow, UK – King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
04/21/16 Birmingham, UK – Hare & Hounds
05/17/16 Ann Arbor, MIThe Ark *
05/18/16 Toronto, ONDanforth Music Hall *
05/20/16 New York, NYThe Town Hall *
05/21/16 Washington, DCLincoln Theatre *
05/22/16 Boston, MAWilbur Theatre *
05/24/16 Philadelphia, PAUnion Transfer *
05/26/16 Atlanta, GABuckhead Theatre *
05/27/16 New Orleans, LAThe Civic Theatre *
05/28/16 Dallas, TXThe Kessler Theatre *
05/30/16 Tucson, AZThe Rialto Theatre *
05/31/16 Los Angeles, CAThe Fonda Theatre *
06/02/16 San Francisco, CAGreat American Music Hall *
06/03/16 Portland, ORAladdin Theater *
06/04/16 Seattle, WANeptune Theatre *
06/05/16 Boise, IDEgyptian Theatre *
06/07/16 Boulder, COBoulder Theater *
06/08/16 Omaha, NESlowdown *
06/09/16 Minneapolis, MNVarsity Theater *
06/10/16 Milwaukee, WITurner Hall Ballroom *
06/11/16 Chicago, ILThalia Hall *

* w/ Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop

Categories

Archive

  • April 2016
  • March 2016
  • February 2016

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed