WATCH // Mitski Shares “Your Best American Girl” Video; ‘Puberty 2’ Out 6/17

Mitski’s phenomenal “Your Best American Girl” has been rolling around our heads, glued to the walls of our hearts, since it came out. Not to mention it’s received heaps of praise from the likes of NPR Music, The FADER, Pitchfork, and Rolling Stone, for its original portrayal of feeling “half Japanese, half American, but not fully either.”

Today, Mitski presents the absolutely perfect video for this bold number. Directed by Zia Anger with cinematography by Ashley Conner, art direction by Caiti Hawkins and styling by Creatures of the Wind, the “Your Best American Girl” video further plays on the idea of, as a Japanese girl, never quite fitting in with the genre’s surplus of white American guys, and is further proof that 2016 will be a breakout year for one Mitski Miyawaki.

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Stream Kevin Morby’s ‘Singing Saw’, Out 4/15

kevinmorby-082-Edit

Today, Kevin Morby is streaming his incredible new record, Singing Saw, in full. That’s right! You can hear the whole thing right now thanks to a variety of radio partners throughout the US and Canada. We’re so excited to have CBC, KCRW from Los Angeles, KTBG from Kansas City (Kevin’s hometown), KCMP of Minneapolis, WXPN of Philadelphia on board to support Kevin’s stunning Dead Oceans debut.

STREAM SINGING SAW:
CBC – http://bit.ly/1N98ATA
KCRW – http://kcrw.co/1MVvsee
KTBG – http://bit.ly/1Nb5bn9
KCMP – http://www.thecurrent.org/
WXPN (starts @ 3PM EST) – http://www.xpn.org/
RADIO MILWAUKEE (starts @ 2PM EST) – http://radiomilwaukee.org

Read the rest of this entry »

LISTEN // Julianna Barwick Shares New Single “Same” Feat. Mas Ysa

We’ve reached the time of year where thunderstorms become more frequent, high and low temps colliding to dramatic affect. There’s a change in pressure that alerts of an oncoming storm. The wind picks up, as does the hair on the back of your neck. Julianna Barwick’s new single “Same” is that charge in the air. Read the rest of this entry »

ANNOUNCE // Destroyer Announces “My Mystery” 12-inch + Remix by DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com, Extensive European + Asian Tour

In autumn 2015, Destroyer released Poison Season — a treasure trove of mid-’70s Bowie-esque thumpers, string-laden laments and E Street horns—to universal acclaim, following it up with a mammoth 8-piece band tour around North America and Europe. Recorded in the same sessions as Poison Season, the song “My Mystery” was a huge favorite yet somehow felt like it didn’t quite fit on the album. So we are pleased to be able to share it now in advance of Destroyer’s forthcoming tours of Europe and Southeast Asia. A limited 12-inch will be released on 6 May.

Says Bejar: “We recorded a song called “My Mystery” a year and a half ago. Kind of a light number, vaguely danceable. Wistful, looking back not unfondly on time spent and dull misadventures had within the dead-as-a-doornail music industry. And the feeling of where it leaves you, like a rat in the middle of the ocean, though not as harsh as that; as if rats could swim an ocean’s length.

Then one day DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com called me up and said, “You got any shit for me?”…

So here it is, the video that features the remix by DJ johnedwardcollins@gmail.com (who also plays in the live band and has remixed Destroyer on prior singles). Shot in Mexico City, by Nicloas Bragg, the director says, “‘An ideal city must contain elements of magic, serenity, sorcery and mystery…’ -Luis Barragan. Night falls on CDMX and Destroyer dreams of chasing architects along the oval horse track surrounding Parque Mexico. Old dogs, old men and old Bejar stray into the mesh of fountains, facades and blood orange flumes. “My Mystery” captures our last hours in Mexico City. Taco stands and mezcal bars point the way — all while people keep death in their wine-sloshed eyes. “

Destroyer will be playing their debut shows in Asia this April in China, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand and will be back in Europe for more dates this coming June. All dates are listed below!
Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // Kevin Morby Plays Un Soirée De Poche For La Blogotheque, Including New Songs

Kevin Morby‘s new record, Singing Saw, will be released April 15th, and you can watch now as he plays several new songs from the record, the title tune from 2013’s Harlem River, and a Bob Dylan cover for a rapt audience on a Paris porch for La Blogotheque.

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Fri. July 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Fri. July 15 – Sun. July 17 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Fri. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival

Fri. Sept. 2 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road

* w/ Jaye Bartell

  • Happy by Mitski
  • Mitski "Happy" directed by Maegan Houang
  • Same by Julianna Barwick
  • Julianna Barwick "Same" directed by Zia Anger
  • Your Best American Girl by Mitski
  • Mitski "Your Best American Girl" directed by Zia Anger
  • Nebula by Julianna Barwick
  • Julianna Barwick "Nebula" directed by Derrick Belcham

    free downloads

    Your Best American Girl by Mitski
    Happy by Mitski
    Dhoodan by Ryley Walker
    I Have Been To The Mountain by Kevin Morby
    Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
    Dark Child by Marlon Williams
    Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
    Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
    Dream Lover by Destroyer
    Times Square by Destroyer
    Moonshiner by Kevin Morby

    video

    Happy by Mitski

    Same by Julianna Barwick

    Nebula by Julianna Barwick

    5 out soon

    Mitski
    Puberty 2
    CD / LP

    todays shows

    Bleached
    Evreux, FR - L'Abordage

    See all upcoming shows

    Find Dead Oceans On:

    & please subscribe to our RSS Feed