Filed Under:dead oceans

WATCH // Bleached Share Video For New Single “Wednesday Night Melody”

“’Wednesday Night Melody’ perfectly captures the spirit of young adulthood, a time when you’re young and free and your whole life is ahead of you, but you’re often broke and consumed by angst. Bleached’s furious and fun sound, mixed with a slacker vibe, invites you to enjoy your youthful worries while they last.” — NPR Music’s “All Songs Considered”


“Like the band itself, the video tackles objectively unpleasant subject matter with cheeky panache, transforming it into a scuzzed-out garage pop ride.” — Noisey on “Wednesday Night Melody” video


“a sneering soundtrack to a souring relationship and a gentle reminder to keep on keepin’ on regardless.”



“If lead single ‘Keep On Keepin’ On’ is any indication, the L.A. rockers have found a way to further indulge their punk desires with breezy pop vibes…the track chugs forward with driving, incessant guitar and a dangerous bass line that creeps in the background. — Consequence of Sound


Bleached have unveiled the video for their new single, “Wednesday Night Melody,” from their forthcoming album, Welcome The Worms, out April 1st on Dead Oceans. The video depicts Bleached band members, Jessie Clavin and Micayla Grace, coming home to find their lead singer, Jennifer Clavin, dead. But the band has an important gig that night at renowned L.A. rock club, The Smell, and the show must go on!


“We were so stoked we got to do this video with [director] Gil Kenan,” said Jennifer. “We’ve known each other for years from the Smell scene in L.A. I didn’t realize how well his concept for this video flowed with the lyrics until after we finished filming. The lyrics started off as a letter to myself and range from depicting the indulgence of vices to escape, sad reflection of the past, and into the acceptance of those feelings as a part of life and feeling hopeful for the future. So the fact that I play dead during this whole video was such an abstract take on it that it felt perfect.”


Upon the announcement of Welcome The Worms, Bleached is being recognized as a no-frills, not-to-be-missed rock band. Coming out of a particularly trying time in life, sisters Jessie and Jennifer dove head-first into music, siting unhealthy romantic endeavors, eviction and futile drunken nights as the inspiration behind their ambitious sophomore album. The band will be heading to SXSW and will then embark on their extensive North American tour in support of the record (all dates below).


Pre-order Welcome The Worms:

via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon

Support your local independent record store

Bleached Tour Dates:

Tue. Mar. 15 – Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Sun. Mar. 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger/Burger Hangover Festival

Thu. Mar. 24 – Fayetteville, AR @ On The Map Festival

Tue. Mar. 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones *

Wed. Mar. 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah*

Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar*

Mon. Apr. 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder*

Tue. Apr. 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s *

Wed. Apr. 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links *

Fri. Apr. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt *

Sat. Apr. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn *

Mon. Apr. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

Wed. Apr. 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9*

Fri. Apr. 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott*

Sat. Apr. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB *

Sun. Apr. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison*

Wed. Apr. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness*

Thu. Apr. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch*

Fri. Apr. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle*

Sat. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry*

Mon. Apr. 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge*

Tue. Apr. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court*

Thu. Apr. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Fri. Apr. 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza*

Sat. Apr. 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir *

Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill*

Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room*

Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom*

Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers

Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club

Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios

Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis

Tue. May 24 – Lille, FR @ Aeronof

Wed. May 25 – Everux, FR @ Abordage

Thu. May 26 – Metz, FR @ BAM

Fri. May 27 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum

Sat. May 28 – Antwerp, BL @ Het Bos

Mon. May 30 – Zurich, SW @ Eldorado


* with No Parents

WATCH // Kevin Morby Releases Video For “I Have Been To The Mountain,” Shares Expanded Tour Dates (Incl. SXSW)


Today, Kevin Morby shares the first video and single off his forthcoming record, Singing Saw, out 4/15 on Dead Oceans. “I Have Been To The Mountain” is as angry a song as Kevin has written, which can almost be gleaned from the purposeful opening acoustic strum. “‘I Have Been To The Mountain’ is a song for those struck down by the hands of evil – senseless killings which have always overwhelmed our planet, but especially recently,” says Morby. “It’s dedicated to and inspired by the death of Eric Garner.


The video, directed by Phillip Lopez and starring dancer Nathan Mitchell, portrays a man on his deathbed that, upon death, is reborn as an exuberant and jovial presence, performing for no audience in glum surroundings. Perhaps just as interesting as the video and song is how Kevin and Phillip came to collaborate. Phillip had produced a short film called “Fred Astaire with a stomach full of Corn Chips and Valium” starring Mitchell and featuring his emotive dancing, which used Kevin’s song “Harlem River,” though it was uncredited. Morby loved the video, and reached out to Lopez asking for him to credit his song, which he happily did. When it came time to create a video for Singing Saw‘s first single, Kevin knew whom to tap for the job. Mitchell’s almost Buster Keaton-esque mannerisms are captivating to behold. “Kevin wanted to embrace the dancing of Nathan,” said Lopez, “and I had remembered a time in the hospital when a man was dying in the bed next to me, and his family was wailing in grief.  The moment he died, they were all silent, and i felt as if his soul danced around the place.  To me the message of the song resonated with this sort of nostalgic sagely wisdom, that empowers us even in death.”


Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
Support your local independent record store:


KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

(more info and tix here)

Thu. Feb. 25 – Rennes, FR @ La Route du Rock Winter Festival

Wed. Mar 16 – Fri. Mar. 18 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 0 Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon


* w/ Jaye Bartell

WATCH // Kevin Morby Shares Trailer For ‘Singing Saw,’ Out April 15th

On April 15th, Kevin Morby will release his third record, and first for Dead Oceans, Singing Saw. It is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.


In the autumn of 2014, Kevin Morby moved to the small, hilly Los Angeles neighborhood of Mount Washington. The move would shape Singing Saw. Previous tenants at Morby’s new home happened to leave an upright piano behind, with a few mysterious pieces of sheet music and an introductory book of common chords stacked on top. Thankful to finally be in one place for an extended spell, Morby, a beginner at the piano, immediately sat at the new instrument and began composing the songs that would form Singing Saw.


Alongside, he began taking long walks through the winding hills and side streets of the neighborhood each night, glimpsing views of both the skyline’s sweeping lights and the dark, dried out underbrush of the LA flora. The duality of the city itself began to shape a set of lyrical ideas that he would refine with the sparse accompaniment of piano and acoustic guitar.


The arrangements of Singing Saw trace back to Morby’s experience playing in The Complete Last Waltz, a live recreation of The Band’s legendary last performance. There, Morby developed a fast friendship with producer/bandleader Sam Cohen (Apollo Sunshine, Yellowbirds), which led Morby to forgo recording in Los Angeles and take the nascent songs of Singing Saw to Isokon Studios in Woodstock, New York. There, in a converted A-frame house, they set about creating a record that would bring a sonic balance, intricacy and depth to match these songs and all that inspired them. Morby and Cohen (who added guitar, bass, drums and keyboard) were joined by fellow Complete Last Waltz alum Marco Benevento on piano and keyboard. Backup vocalists Hannah Cohen, Lauren Balthrop and Alecia Chakor contributed soaring harmonies; Nick Kinsey (Elvis Perkins) added drums and percussion; Justin Sullivan, a longtime Morby collaborator and staple of his live band, contributed drums; Oliver Hill and Eliza Bag lifted numerous songs with string accompaniments, and Alec Spiegelman on saxophone and flute and Cole Kamen-Green on trumpet brought dramatic swells. Finally, John Andrews (Quilt) added the eerie lilt of the album’s promise, providing saw on the “Cut Me Down” and “Singing Saw”.


In the end, Morby fulfills the promise many heard on his first two albums, bringing his most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism to fruition. The songs of Singing Saw reflect the clarity that comes from welcoming change and embracing duality, and the distillation of those elements into an entirely new vision.

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon// Support your local independent record store

Cut Me down
I Have Been To The Mountain
Singing Saw
Drunk And On A Star
Ferris Wheel
Black Flowers


(more info and tix here)

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney
Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210
Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse
Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet
Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ RadarSar. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

WATCH // Marlon Williams To Release Self Titled Debut LP February 19th, Shares Video For “Dark Child”

Marlon Williams broke out in stride with his incredible voice and masterful stage presence in Australia and New Zealand last year surrounding the release of his debut, self-titled album. He topped off the year winning Best Male Solo Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year at the New Zealand Music Awards, where he performed new single, “Dark Child,” attended the ARIA Awards in Australia, where he was nominated for Best Blues & Roots Album, and made his morning television debut performing “Hello Miss Lonesome” on “ABC Breakfast TV” in Australia.

It’s now time for Williams to make his mark on North America and the rest of the world. His debut album will see its release outside of NZ/Australia on Feb. 19 via Dead Oceans. But before that day’s arrival, Williams kicks off the year presenting the twisted video for the aforementioned single “Dark Child” where director Damian Golfinopoulos deconstructs the idea of a shared tragedy as if it were a deranged game played out on a movie set by a procession of actors. And at the end of the month, Marlon Williams & The Yarra Benders’ debut headline tour in North America begins. The band will be a four piece: Marlon Williams (guitar/vocals), Gus Agars (drum/vocals), Ben Woolley (bass/vocals) and Dave Khan (electric guitar/mandolin/fiddle/vocals). All dates are below.

Pre Order Marlon Williams’ Self Title LP now:
CD, LP & ltd tan vinyl // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local independent record store

Marlon William Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Mon. Jan. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique
Thu. Jan. 21 – London, UK @ St. Pancras Old Church
Fri. Jan. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club – SOLD OUT
Sun. Jan. 31 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Mon. Feb. 1 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Feb. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar
Wed. Feb. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Fri. Feb. 5 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Sat. Feb. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Dakota Tavern
Mon. Feb. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Tue. Feb. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Wed. Feb. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Thu. Feb. 18 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sat. Feb. 20 – Nantes, FR @ Le Stereolux (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 21 – Mérignac, FR @ Krakatoa (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Mon. Feb. 22 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106 (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 28 – Perth, WA @ Perth International Arts Festival
Sat. March 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Zoo
Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation
Fri. March 11 – Sydney, AU @ Taronga Zoo
Sat. March 12 – Lonestar Valley, TAS @ A Festival Called Panama
Sun. March 13 – Mon. March 14 – Adelaide, SA @ Womadelaide
Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

RELEASE DAY // Mark McGuire Releases ‘Beyond Belief’ Worldwide

He’s from another planet…” – The 405

a modern Krautrock acolyte following in the footsteps of Manuel Göttsching, expands his typical palette on the new one…” – Resident Advisor

Beyond Belief, Mark McGuire’s second full-length for Dead Oceans, finds him now well on the way of his own trip. Fantastical liner note tales written to accompany and set the stage for his mostly-wordless songs delight and confound. Throughout nine tracks we find an unrelenting drive to refine, build upon, focus and maximize the effect of an already remarkably prolific body of work. Though deservedly known for his virtuosic multitracked guitar playing, McGuire in fact plays every bass / synth / piano note, and every beat on the album himself, his vocals more prominent than ever before. 26 months in the making, the passion going into Beyond Belief is self-evident, and the effect is overwhelming.

Buy Beyond Belief now:
LP, CD & cassette bundles // Apple Music // Support your local independent store

free downloads

The Halfwit In Me by Ryley Walker
The Roundabout by Ryley Walker
Dhoodan by Ryley Walker
I Have Been To The Mountain by Kevin Morby
Hello Miss Lonesome by Marlon Williams
Dark Child by Marlon Williams
Earth:2015 by Mark McGuire
Sons Of The Serpent by Mark McGuire
Dream Lover by Destroyer
Times Square by Destroyer


A Burning Hill by Mitski

Everybody Wants To Love You by Japanese Breakfast

The Roundabout by Ryley Walker

Jane Cum by Japanese Breakfast

5 out soon

todays shows

Bloomington, IN - The Bishop  w/ Beach Slang

Japanese Breakfast
London, UK - The Lexington

San Francisco, CA - Hemlock Tavern

Ryley Walker
Asheville, NC - The Mothlight

See all upcoming shows

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed