Filed Under:I Love You Like A Brother

Alex Lahey Announces Debut Album, ‘I Love You Like A Brother’, Out October 6th

Born and raised in Melbourne, Alex Lahey initially studied jazz saxophone at university but unimpressed with “learning music in such a regimented way” she switched to an arts degree. Lahey’s debut album, I Love You Like A Brother (out October 6th), drops fresh off the back of Lahey’s breakthrough EP in 2016, B-Grade University. Both releases build on her tenure with cult music collective Animaux which allowed Lahey the musical anarchy she yearned in school – hell, she booked the band their first gig before they’d even prepared a single song.

Today we’re excited to share “Everyday’s The Weekend” along with a fantastic video counterpart. We’ve all felt the ennui of a dead end job, but somehow Lahey makes it feel almost…fun? Enjoy the clip above & stream the single here – alexlahey.lnk.to/weekend.

Brother finds Lahey back in the studio with production partner, and one-half of Holy Holy, Oscar Dawson (Ali Barter, British India). The pair pushed each other to create an intimate sonic experience that comprises scuzzy guitars thrumming over pop melodies, helmed by Lahey’s unfussy but arresting vocals. The album’s songs traverse the everyday themes of family, heartbreak and identity. Lahey tells her stories with character and dry humor – “I’ve figured it out,” she sings in “Awkward Exchange,” “you’re a bit of a dick” – but there are also moments of darkness. In “Taking Care” she muses, “I’ve gained weight and I drink too much, maybe that’s why you don’t love me as much.” The poignant “Backpack” is a tribute to Lahey’s latest relationship, and the unsure start it got off to.

The themes of Alex Lahey’s album might be universal, but it’s the unique approach she takes unpacking them that’s earned her a Best New Track on Pitchfork, glowing press from the likes of Entertainment Weekly, Stereogum, NYLON, Noisey, a spot in the Australian radio network triple j’s prestigious Hottest 100 of 2016 & more.

Lahey will bring her tour in support of I Love You Like A Brother stateside this November, kicking off in Boston on Wed. November 15th. A full list of tour dates is below.

Pre-order I Love You Like A Brother now:
https://alexlahey.lnk.to/brother

I Love You Like A Brother Tracklist:

01. Every Day’s The Weekend
02. I Love You Like A Brother
03. Perth Traumatic Stress Disorder
04. I Haven’t Been Taking Care Of Myself
05. Backpack
06. Awkward Exchange
07. I Want U
08. Lotto In Reverse
09. Let’s Call It A Day
10. There’s No Money

Alex Lahey Tour Dates:
Tue. Oct. 26 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Witloonar
Fri. Oct. 27 – Rokerdam, NL @ V11
Mon. Oct. 30 – Cologne, DE @ Blue Shell
Tue. Oct. 31 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Musikclub
Wed. Nov. 1 – Berlin, DE @ Privat Club
Wed. Nov. 3 – Munich, DE @ Kranhalle
Sat. Nov. 4 – Stuttgart, DE @ Keller Klub
Sun. Nov. 5 – Fribourg, DE @ Espace culturel Le Nouveau Monde
Mon. Nov. 6 – Paris, FR @ La Mécanique Ondulatoire
Wed. Nov. 8 – London, UK @ Boston Music Room
Tue. Nov. 9 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Fri. Nov. 10 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. Nov. 11 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf InsJtute
Sun. Nov. 12 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
Wed. Nov. 15 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Thu. Nov. 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Fri. Nov. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Sun. Nov. 19 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Wed. Nov. 22 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel – Underground
Fri. Nov. 24 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
Sat. Nov. 25th – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Wed. Nov. 29 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Thu. Nov. 30 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda
Sat. Dec. 2 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge
Sun. Dec. 3 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tue. Dec. 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge
Wed. Dec. 6 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Fri. Dec. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat.Dec. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Mon. Dec. 11 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Dec. 12 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Wed. Dec. 13 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey

video

Vampire Again by Marlon Williams

Every Day's The Weekend by Alex Lahey

Road Head by Japanese Breakfast

City Music by Kevin Morby

5 out soon

Phoebe Bridgers
Stranger In The Alps
CD / LP
Alex Lahey
I Love You Like A Brother
CD / LP
Destroyer
ken
CD / LP