Alex Lahey Shares New Single, “Am I Doing It Right?” + Announces North American Tour

Posted on 04/03/2019

Today, Melbourne-based songwriter Alex Lahey shares new single, “Am I Doing It Right?” from her forthcoming album, The Best of Luck Club (out May 17th via Dead Oceans) and announces her first set of North American tour dates in support of the album. Following the album’s “tear-it-all-down pick-me-up” (SPIN) first single, “Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself,” “Am I Doing It Right?” brings Lahey’s knack for writing super catchy melodies with relatable lyrics to the forefront.

Pre-order The Best of Luck Club

“Being a musician is considered a weird job without any explanation necessary, but one of the strangest parts about being a musician is that there is absolutely no set pathway you’re supposed to follow to get where you want to go,” says Lahey. “This song reflects on being thrust into a lifestyle and going with it while feeling like others are looking over your shoulder to make sure you’re doing all the right things by you and everyone else. It’s like fighting a losing battle while loving every minute of it.”

Kicking off with a performance at Outside Lands in August, Lahey will hit the road for her first run of North American tour dates in support of The Best of Luck Club. The tour will take Lahey across the southern US, up the east coast, and through the midwest. A full list of dates is below, with tickets on sale this Friday at 10am local time.

Alex Lahey Tour Dates:
Mon. May 13 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Wed. May 15 – Belfast, UK @ Empire Music Hall
Thu. May 16 – Dublin, IR @ The Grand Social
Fri. May 17 – Liverpool, UK @ Arts Club
Sun. May 19 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Mon. May 20 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu. May 23 – London, UK @ Oslo
Thu. June 6 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. June 7 – Perth, AU @ Rock Rover
Thu. June 13 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli
Fri. June 14 – Canberra, AU @ The Basement
Sat. June 15 – Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre
Sat. June 22 – Melbourne, AU @ Forum Melbourne
Fri. Aug. 9 – Sun. Aug. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands
Tue. Aug. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubadour
Wed. Aug. 14 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Aug. 16 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s
Sat. Aug. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co.
Mon. Aug. 19 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Aug. 20 – Nashville, TN @ Exit / In
Thu. Aug. 22 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. Aug. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. Aug. 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Aug. 25 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Aug. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Wed. Aug. 28 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Sun. Sep. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Tue. Sep. 3 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge

More News